Get involved

Print

Guide to the National Strategy for Alzheimer’s Disease and Other Dementias Act

On June 22, 2017, Bill C-233 received Royal Assent and became an Act of Parliament, one of the laws of Canada.

The National Strategy for Alzheimer’s Disease and Other Dementias Act was first introduced to Parliament as a Private Member’s Bill calling for all levels of government to work together to coordinate research, promote prevention and improve care.

The Act directs the federal Minister of Health to develop and implement a comprehensive national strategy to address Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of dementia.

The strategy will:

  • develop specific national objectives;
  • encourage greater investment in research;
  • coordinate activities with international Alzheimer organizations; and,
  • help provinces develop clinical guidelines for treatment and best practices in dementia care that can be shared across the country.

The Minister of Health must convene a conference within 180 days of the Act’s adoption to develop the strategy in collaboration with provincial and territorial health officials, researchers, healthcare professionals, family caregivers, people living with dementia, the Alzheimer Society and other dementia advocacy organizations.

The Act also contains provisions for establishing an advisory board to guide the Minister of Health on matters related to dementia care. This board will consist of up to 15 members who would hold office for a three-year renewable term and meet at least twice annually. The Minister must report to Parliament on the effectiveness of the strategy within two years of the Act’s passage and on annual basis.

Bill C-233’s co-sponsors, the Honourable Rob Nicholson, MP Niagara Falls, and Rob Oliphant, MP Don Valley West, are to be commended for their leadership and support, as is the Standing Senate Committee on Social Affairs, Science, and Technology. They have been dedicated champions of the Bill on behalf of Canadians living with dementia, their families, and caregivers. 

Download a copy of the Act respecting a national strategy for Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias .


Last Updated: 07/18/17
Back to top

Guide sur la Loi concernant une stratégie nationale sur la maladie d’Alzheimer et d’autres démences

Le Projet de loi C-233 a reçu la sanction royale le 22 juin 2017 et, de ce fait, est devenu une Loi du Parlement… l’une des lois du Canada.

La Loi concernant une stratégie nationale sur la maladie d’Alzheimer et d’autres démences a été présenté en tant que projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire appellant à tous les niveaux du gouvernement de travailler ensemble pour coordonner les travaux de recherche, encourager la prévention et améliorer les soins. 

La Loi ordonne à la ministre fédérale de la Santé d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre une stratégie nationale globale pour aborder la maladie d’Alzheimer et les maladies apparentées.

La stratégie devra permettre de :

  • élaborer des objectifs nationaux spécifiques;
  • encourager des investissements plus importants dans les programmes de recherche;
  • coordonner les activités avec les organisations internationales qui se dévouent à la maladie d’Alzheimer; et
  • aider les provinces à élaborer des lignes directrices cliniques concernant le traitement et les aider à renforcer les pratiques exemplaires relatives aux maladies cognitives pour qu’elles puissent être échangées partout au pays.

La ministre fédérale de la Santé doit convoquer une conférence dans les 180 jours suivant son adoption pour élaborer la stratégie de concert avec les responsables de la santé des provinces et territoires, les chercheurs, les professionnels de la santé, les aidants naturels, les personnes atteintes de la maladie, la Société Alzheimer ainsi que les autres organismes militants.

La Loi contient aussi des dispositions relatives à la mise en place d’un conseil consultatif pour guider la ministre sur des sujets concernant les soins offerts aux personnes atteintes de la maladie. Ce conseil comprendra jusqu’à 15 membres qui y siègeront pendant un mandat renouvelable de trois ans et qui se réuniront deux fois par an au minimum. La ministre doit présenter un rapport au Parlement chaque année qui portera sur l’efficacité de la stratégie, et cela dans les deux ans suivant l’adoption de la Loi.

Il convient de féliciter les co-parrains du Projet de loi C-233, l’honorable Rob Nicholson, député de Niagara Falls, et Rob Oliphant, député de Don Valley West, pour leur leadership et leur soutien, tout comme les membres du Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires sociales, des sciences et de la technologie. Ils ont été des champions dévoués au projet de loi au nom des Canadiens touchés par la maladie, des familles et des aidants.


Last Updated: 07/18/2017