Board of Directors

Members of the Alzheimer Society of Ontario’s Board of Directors, elected from across Ontario, guide the organization’s efforts to improve service and care, fund and advance research, educate the communities we serve and mobilize support for the disease. To learn more, please contact board liaison Lee Ann Stewart, lstewart@alzheimeront.org.

Pamela Waeland, Chair

Pam WaelandPam recently retired from 3M Canada, where she held numerous positions in the areas of sales and marketing, corporate advertising, public relations, corporate communications.  Her last position was that of Business Manager, Government Markets and Public Affairs, Provincial Markets where she was responsible for maximizing business relationships across Canada.

Pam served on the Board of Directors for the London Chamber of Commerce (President 2006/7), and is a member of London Chamber of Commerce Board of Governors.  She has also served on the Board of Directors for the Ontario Chamber of Commerce and was active on the Chamber’s  Ontario Business Advisory Council.  

Pam is a past Chair of the Board of Directors for the Alzheimer Society London and Middlesex.  

Since becoming involved with the Federation Leadership Forums, she come to know a number of ASO staff and board members and find their passion to be infectious.  Her involvement with the OE Task Force and co-chair of past Governance Leadership Conferences reaffirms the futurity and sustainability of Alzheimer Society is paramount.   She has a proven track record of getting results.


Thomas Evans, Treasurer  

ThomasExperiencing first-hand the impact of Alzheimer’s disease on a close family member, Thomas Evans was motivated by his concern about the effects and projected growth of the disease. He joined the ASO Board in order to help support the search for a cure and those who are affected by dementia and their families.

Thomas will bring his many years experience as an accomplished business and financial executive in diverse industries (financial services, public service, hospitality, transportation, mining, manufacturing) and among large, small, public, private, non-profit and public sector organizations to his position as Chair, Finance and Audit Committee.

Ted Wheatley

Ted WheatleyTed Wheatley has been a senior volunteer with several Canadian health charities for over 20 years, including the Canadian Cancer Society, and the North York General Hospital Foundation.  Professionally he has worked in the banking and insurance industry his entire career and is currently an Advisor with Sun Life Financial in Toronto.   Ted has served on the Audit & Finance committee of the Alzheimer Society of Ontario for two years and most recently joined the Board as a Director.  Ted is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CGA) and has an MBA from the University of Toronto (Rotman School of Business).   

Rick Gallop

RickRick’s career as CEO of the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Ontario coupled with his earlier presidency of a major advertising agency, brings to ASO a wealth of experience in fund raising, marketing and communications.

During his 16 year tenure at the Heart and Stroke Foundation, Rick was responsible for overseeing a tenfold increase in fund raising revenues. He was also a major catalyst in raising the profile of stroke and the importance of lifestyle change in reducing the risk of most major diseases.

In that connection he took early retirement to write and promote a highly successful series of books on diet and lifestyle change [a New York Times bestseller].

Rick has also served on the board of the Glaucoma Research Society of Canada and more recently appointed a director of Farm Radio International.

Rudi Loepp, Secretary

RudiRudi Loepp is currently a Business Development Executive, Connected Intelligence with SNAP Security Corporation. He was previously a Sales Executive with IBM Canada Limited with a career that encompasses over 35 years of experience in educational, marketing and management roles.

He has put his leadership skills to work in the community as well. He was Vice President of Big Brothers (Regina), Board Member of Opera Saskatchewan, Chair of IBM/Cheer Board Corporate Challenge (Winnipeg) and Account Executive of United Way. In Ottawa, he was involved with Junior Achievement, and previously chaired IBM's involvement in Destiny 2000. He received his BComm Hons. in Marketing from the University of Manitoba.

 He also has 10 years of experience in various roles on the Alzheimer Society of Ottawa and Renfrew County's Board of Directors, combined with 35 years of management background and a personal family experience with dementia.

Farhad Sethna

Farhad Farhad has served on the Board of the Alzheimer Society of York Region as Chair, Vice-Chair and Treasurer.  His professional experience includes governance, strategic planning, financial and operational management.  Farhad has been an active member of his community by serving on the Boards of Art Starts, a community based arts organization and the Toronto Chapter of Financial Executives International.

Farhad is currently the Vice-President, Corporate Services at Shepherd Village, a healthcare facility for seniors.

Bob Stewart

Bob StewartAs a successful business person with a strong understanding of finance and human resources, Bob has been able to offer his skills to create some of Thunder Bay’s most successful fundraising events. Demonstrating the benefits and importance of strong leadership and organization, Bob has been involved in committees developing  programs at the Thunder Bay Regional Health Science Centre and has  served on the board of the Alzheimer Society of Thunder Bay.    
    
Bob has walked the journey of dementia with his mother over the past 15 years,and   
has had opportunities to work with many committed people, observe the services offered to clients and their families and educate himself about the Alzheimer’s disease process through workshops and seminars.            
    
As well as serving as Treasurer on the board of Directors, Bob has been a part of the    
Alzheimer Society of Thunder Bay as a client family, a donor, an event chair and committee member. This has given him a multi-­‐faceted view and the opportunity to use his business skill set to seek out ways to maximize efficiencies in spending  donor dollars toward strengthening and supporting people with dementia and their families.

Keith Gibbons, Vice-Chair

Kieth Gibbons As President & CEO of McCormick Canada, Keith brings a broad perspective to the Board of ASO. His professional experience includes organizational development,strategic and financial planning and general management. As well, he has been an active Community member in London where he has sat on several Boards in the non-profit sector.

Joining the Board in 2012, Keith recognizes the significant strain Alzheimer's disease has on families through personal family experience. As well, Keith appreciates the significant social, health and economic impacts that will result from the increasing affects of the population being impacted by dementia in the coming years. Having an opportunity to help deal with these issues motivated him to become involved with ASO.

Anthony Milonas

Anthony MilonasAnthony Milonas has 17 years of senior management experience across multiple industries, and multiple continents.  Anthony is currently Chief Operating Officer at CBI Health Group based in Toronto, which includes We Care Health Services, where he leads a team of over 7,000 people nationally.  Prior to joining We Care in 2010, he was most recently in Europe at Lausanne, Switzerland-based Barnes Group Inc. where he spent four years in a variety of General Management positions.  Milonas spent several years in senior positions with large fortune 500 companies in senior leadership roles.

Anthony sits on several boards including: Canadian Home Care Association (CHCA), Canadian Abilities Foundation (CAF), a Signatory Partner for the Canadian Caregiver Coalition (CCC), Alzheimer’s Society of Ontario (ASO), was a former board member of Home Care Ontario (HCO), as well as was past  Chair for Canada Cares Caregiver Award – Selection Committee. 

Anthony holds a Masters Certificate in Healthcare Management, a Masters Degree in Business Administration, a Bachelor of Business Administration, and is fluent in English, French and Greek.

Anthony believes nothing is more important than being able to live a full, independent life, and works to make a difference.

Allan Greve

Allan Greve Board MemberFrom 1989 to 2001, Allan Greve served as President and CEO of St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton.  During his tenure, Allan ensured that the hospital was one of the most efficient and effective in the country with a no deficit policy.  He also finalized agreements for the construction of a $160 million redevelopment program for the construction of a 10-storey Tower with acute clinical facilities and an academic centre.  Prior to this, he served as President and CEO of Scarborough General Hospital for six years.  Currently, he is President of Greve Health Solutions Incorporated. 

Allan has extensive experience as a governor in the Public and Private Sector and his key roles has included Founding Chair of the Board—Smart Systems for Health (Provincial IT Infrastructure), Chair of the Board and Governor for Mohawk College, Governor for  Ontario Hospital Association, Ontario Council of Teaching Hospitals, and other regional and provincial agencies.

His academic credentials include a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Saskatchewan and a Diploma in Hospital Administration from the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Community Medicine.

He is currently the President of the Alzheimer Society of Hamilton and Halton.

Michael Fraleigh

Michael Fraleigh is a Partner with the law firm of Fogler, Rubinoff and has extensive experience in all aspects of health law. He has significant expertise in the representation of physicians, dentists, nurses and other health care practitioners in regulatory matters including complaints, discipline, quality assurance, fitness to practice and registration issues. He has also represented numerous physicians in hospital privilege disputes as well as in medical malpractice actions. He also advises corporations and institutions with respect to health law issues.

Michael has served as lead counsel in matters before all levels of court in Ontario, the Federal Court and Federal Court of Appeal, and various tribunals including the Discipline Committee of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, College of Chiropodists, College of Audiologists and Speech Language.

Dr. Wendy Horbay

Dr. Wendy Horbay (PhD, Developmental Biology, University of Toronto) has had a career-long commitment to improving the lives of patients in need, and to enhancing knowledge sharing across many serious medical conditions. Having retired from an 18 year career in pharmaceutical Research & Development and post-marketing clinical development, Wendy has extensive scientific, clinical and research knowledge to the health charities sector.

Wendy was a member of the national board of Parkinson Society Canada (PSC) from 2013 through 2015.  She was elected to (and continues with) the newly constituted board of the nationally restructured Parkinson Canada (PC) in January 2016.  She also continues on the Parkinson Canada Research Policy committee, acting as Vice-Chair.  Earlier PSC board committee work also included the National Advocacy Committee.  Previous volunteer roles have included: Spokesperson, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation (2011-2015); Vice-Chair, Corporate Leadership Cabinet, Princess Margaret Hospital Foundation ‘Weekend to End Women’s Cancers’ (2010-12), and ongoing family eldercare which includes dealing with progressive Parkinson’s Dementia. 

Karen Hacker

Photo of Karen HackerA lawyer and executive based in Toronto, Karen Hacker spent five years with TO2015, the Organizing Committee for the 2015 Pan American and Parapan American Games held in Toronto during the summer of 2015, holding a number of roles,  including General Counsel and Corporate Secretary and Senior Vice-President of Human Resources and Volunteers. She was also a member of TO2015’s senior executive team, reporting to the CEO.  


Before the Games, Ms. Hacker worked in multiple businesses and industries including movies and entertainment, toys, and print and publishing. After the Games, she worked briefly at Canadian Interuniversity Sport as its interim Chief Operating Officer.  With her governance knowledge and experience working with a variety of boards (such as Commonwealth Games Canada’s Board) , she is committed assisting the ASO Board to reach its maximum effectiveness.

Gaston Franklyn

Photo of Gaston Franklyn

Gaston is a professional educator with a B.A., M.Ed. and Ph.D. from Canadian Universities.  He has held full-time teaching positions in Primary (Trinidad), and Secondary and Post-secondary institutions in Canada. 

He retired from his last position as the Vice-President, Academic at St. Clair College of Applied Arts and Technology.  Post retirement, he has worked for CIDA and the World Bank as an international consultant on Education Change Management in China, Thailand, Syria, the Philippines and the Caribbean.

Gaston has previously served as Board Chair of Alzheimer Society of Windsor-Essex County as well as Chair of the Nominating and Governance Committee and Chair of the Community Advisory Committee.  He is currently a member of the Board of Windsor Police Services and Children’s Mental Health of Ontario (CMHO).

Nancy Hines

Photo of Nancy HinesPrior to joining the ASO Board, Nancy Hines was a member of the Board of Directors of the Alzheimer Society of London and Middlesex for six years,  serving as both a Director and Board Chair.  She joined the Local Board after losing her  Mother to frontal lobe dementia.  She also volunteers with the Teleconnect program and facilitates a monthly Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) Spousal Support Group. 

Formal education in the humanities and an entrepreneurial family background provided Nancy with the necessary skills base for involvement in her family-owned business.  She was able to assist in growing a private sector, rural, niche business to a worldwide dealer network.  During this period, she also served seven years as a volunteer Board Member and President on the Huron County Economic  Development  Board.  




Last Updated: 11/08/2017

Imprimer

Conseil d'administration

Les membres du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario, élus dans le cadre d'élections qui se tiennent dans toute la province, guident les efforts de notre association pour améliorer les services et les soins, financer et faire avancer la recherche, informer le public cible et mobiliser le soutien pour les personnes atteintes. Pour en savoir plus, nous vous invitons à communiquer avec l'agente de liaison du conseil, Mme Lee Ann Stewart : lstewart@alzheimeront.org

Mme Pamela Waeland, présidente

Pam Waeland

Mme Waeland, qui a récemment pris sa retraite de 3M Canada, a occupé de nombreux postes dans les domaines de la vente et du marketing, de la publicité de prestige, des relations publiques et des communications d'entreprise. Dans le cadre de la dernière fonction qu'elle a occupée à titre de directrice commerciale, marchés gouvernementaux, affaires publiques et marchés provinciaux, elle avait la responsabilité de maximiser les relations commerciales de la compagnie au Canada.


Mme Waeland a siégé au conseil d'administration de la Chambre de commerce de London (présidente en 2006-2007) et elle est membre du conseil des gouverneurs de la Chambre de commerce de London. Elle a également fait partie du conseil d'administration et du comité consultatif des entreprises ontariennes de la Chambre de commerce de l'Ontario.

Mme Waeland est présidente sortante du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de London et Middlesex.

À l'occasion de sa participation aux forums sur le leadership de la Fédération (Federation Leadership Forums), Mme Waeland a rencontré de nombreux membres du personnel et du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario (SAO), et elle a été conquise par la passion qui les anime. Par la suite, pour assurer la pérennité de la Société Alzheimer, elle a participé au groupe de travail sur l'excellence organisationnelle et elle a été la coprésidente des conférences sur le leadership en matière de gouvernance. Mme Waeland a connu une carrière couronnée de succès.

M. Thomas Evans, trésorier

Thomas

M. Thomas Evans connaît bien les répercussions de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Un membre de sa famille immédiate en a été atteint. Le taux de croissance projeté de cette maladie et ses effets sur les familles l'ont alarmé. Il a adhéré au conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario pour soutenir la recherche et aider les personnes atteintes d'une maladie cognitive et leur famille.


À titre de président du comité des finances et de la vérification, M. Evans nous fait profiter de ses nombreuses années d'expérience en tant que cadre de direction dans plusieurs secteurs de l'industrie (services financiers, fonction publique, hôtellerie, transport, exploitation minière, industrie manufacturière) et toutes sortes d'organisations, grandes et petites, publiques et privées, et à but non lucratif.


M. Ted Wheatley

Ted WheatleyDepuis plus de 20 ans, M. Ted Wheatley travaille comme bénévole-cadre au sein de plusieurs organismes de bienfaisance dans le domaine de la santé, notamment la Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation de l'hôpital général de North York. Au cours de toute sa carrière, M. Wheatley a travaillé dans le secteur bancaire et celui des assurances. Il travaille maintenant à titre de conseiller de la Financière Sun Life à Toronto. Pendant deux ans, M. Wheatley a fait partie du comité des finances et de la vérification de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario, et il s'est joint récemment à son conseil d'administration. M. Wheatley est comptable professionnel agréé (CPA, CGA) et titulaire d'un MBA de l'Université de Toronto (Rotman School of Business).   

M. Rick Gallop

Rick

À titre d'ancien chef de la direction de la Fondation des maladies du cœur de l'Ontario et d'ancien président d'une importante agence de publicité, M. Gallop offre à la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario une riche expérience dans le domaine de la collecte de fonds, du marketing et des communications.

 
Au cours de son mandat de 16 ans, les revenus de la Fondation des maladies du cœur ont été multipliés par dix. Il a également joué un rôle clé dans le domaine de la sensibilisation du public sur les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et sur l'importance de modifier ses habitudes de vie pour réduire les facteurs de risque de la plupart des maladies graves.

À cet égard, il a pris une retraite anticipée afin d'écrire et de promouvoir une série de livres très populaires sur le changement de mode de vie et de régime alimentaire [succès de librairie du New York Times].

M. Gallop a également siégé au conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne de recherche sur le glaucome et, plus récemment, il a été nommé directeur de Radios rurales internationales.


M. Rudi Loepp, secrétaire

Rudi

M. Rudi Loepp est actuellement agent de prospection commerciale et collecte de renseignements pour SNAP Security Corporation. Il a occupé auparavant un poste de directeur commercial à IBM Canada Limitée. Il cumule plus de 35 ans d'expérience dans les domaines de l'éducation, du marketing et de la gestion.

M. Loepp met ses talents de chef de file au service de la collectivité. Il a été vice-président du programme Grands frères (Regina), a siégé au conseil d'administration de l'Opera Saskatchewan, a été président du programme Cheer Board Corporate Challenge IBM (Winnipeg) et il est responsable des comptes de Centraide. À Ottawa, il a participé au programme Jeunes entreprises, et il a été le président de Destiny 2000 pour IBM. Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en marketing de l'Université du Manitoba.

En plus de bien connaître les répercussions des maladies cognitives parce qu'un membre de sa famille en a été atteint, M. Loepp cumule 10 ans d'expérience dans divers rôles au sein du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer d'Ottawa et du comté de Renfrew, et 35 ans à titre de gestionnaire.


M. Farhad Sethna

Farhad

M. Farhad Sethna a occupé les postes de président, de vice-président et de trésorier du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de la région de York. Il possède une expérience professionnelle dans la gouvernance, la planification stratégique et la gestion financière et opérationnelle. M. Sethna joue un rôle actif dans la collectivité. Il siège au conseil d'administration d'Art Starts, organisme communautaire voué aux arts, et à la section torontoise des Dirigeants financiers internationaux.

M. Sethna occupe actuellement le poste de vice-président des services généraux de Shepherd Village, établissement de santé pour les personnes âgées.


M. Bob Stewart

Bob StewartM. Bob Stewart a mis à profit ses talents d'homme d'affaires prospère et sa compréhension approfondie des ressources humaines et financières pour organiser certains des événements de collecte de fonds les plus réussis à Thunder Bay. Il a également mis en évidence les avantages d'un leadership et d'une organisation solides en participant aux comités de mise sur pied des programmes du Centre régional des sciences de la santé de Thunder Bay. M. Stewart siège également au conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de Thunder Bay.


Depuis maintenant 15 ans, la mère de M. Stewart est atteinte de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Il connaît bien les étapes de ce parcours difficile et il a eu l'occasion au fil des ans de bénéficier de l'aide de plusieurs personnes dévouées, d'observer les services offerts aux clients et à leur famille, et de participer à de nombreux ateliers et séminaires d'information sur l'évolution de la maladie d'Alzheimer. 


En plus d'occuper le poste de trésorier au sein du conseil d'administration, M. Stewart fait partie de la Société Alzheimer de Thunder Bay à titre de client, de donateur, et même de président et de membre d'un comité. Il possède une bonne vue d'ensemble de l'organisation et il a mis à profit ses talents d'homme d'affaires pour trouver des moyens de maximiser l'efficacité des dons recueillis pour soutenir les personnes atteintes d'une maladie cognitive et leur famille.


M. Keith Gibbons, vice-président

Kieth Gibbons

À titre de président et de chef de la direction de McCormick Canada, M. Gibbons élargit les perspectives du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario. Il possède une solide expérience professionnelle dans le développement organisationnel, la planification stratégique et financière et la gestion générale. De plus, il siège au conseil d'administration de plusieurs associations à but non lucratif de London, où il participe activement à la vie communautaire.

M. Gibbons est devenu membre du conseil d'administration en 2012. En raison d'une expérience personnelle de la maladie d'Alzheimer dans sa propre famille, il connaît bien le lourd fardeau que cette maladie impose. Il réalise également que cette maladie entraînera des répercussions énormes sur la société et l'économie en raison du vieillissement de la population. Il veut contribuer à la résolution de ces problèmes et c'est pourquoi il prend une part active à l'œuvre de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario.


M. Anthony Milonas

Anthony Milonas

M. Anthony Milonas cumule 17 ans d'expérience à titre de cadre supérieur dans une variété d'industries et sur plusieurs continents. M. Milonas occupe actuellement le poste de directeur de l'exploitation de CBI Health Group de Toronto, qui comprend We Care Health Services, où il dirige une équipe de plus de 7 000 personnes nationalement. Avant de se joindre à We Care en 2010, il a travaillé pendant quatre ans à Lausanne, en Suisse, pour la compagnie Barnes Group Inc., où il a occupé divers postes de direction. M. Milonas a été cadre supérieur dans de nombreuses entreprises du palmarès Fortune 500.

M. Milonas fait partie de nombreux conseils d'administration : Association canadienne de soins et services à domicile (ACSSD), Canadian Abilities Foundation (CAF), Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario (SAO), et il est signataire de la Coalition canadienne des aidantes et aidants naturels (CCAAN). En outre, il a été membre du conseil d'administration de Home Care Ontario (HCO), et président du comité de sélection de remise des prix de Canada Cares Caregiver.

M. Milonas est titulaire d'un certificat de maîtrise en gestion des soins de santé, d'un baccalauréat et d'une maîtrise en administration des affaires, et il parle couramment l'anglais, le français et le grec. 

M. Milonas croit que rien n'est plus important que de pouvoir vivre pleinement et de manière indépendante, et de travailler pour apporter des changements positifs.


M. Allan Greve

Allan Greve Board Member

De 1989 à 2001, M. Allan Greve a occupé le poste de président et de chef de la direction du Centre de soins de santé St. Joseph à Hamilton. Au cours de son mandat, le Centre est devenu le plus efficient et le plus efficace de tout le pays, tout en suivant une politique antidéficit. Dans le cadre d'un programme de réaménagement, M. Greve a également mis la dernière main aux ententes en vue de la construction, au coût de 160 millions de dollars, d'une tour de 10 étages dotée d'installations de soins de courte durée et d'un centre universitaire. M. Greve a également été président et chef de la direction de l'Hôpital général de Scarborough pendant six ans. Actuellement, il est le président de Greve Health Solutions Incorporated.

M. Greve détient une vaste expérience dans les secteurs public et privé, et il a occupé de nombreux postes clés dans la haute direction : il a été président fondateur du conseil d'administration de l'Agence des systèmes intelligents pour la santé (infrastructure informatique provinciale), président et gouverneur du Collège Mohawk, gouverneur de l'Association des hôpitaux de l'Ontario et de l'Ontario Council of Teaching Hospitals, et autres agences régionales et provinciales.

M. Greve est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en pharmacie de l'Université de la Saskatchewan et d'un diplôme en administration hospitalière de la faculté de médecine communautaire de l'Université de Toronto.

Il est actuellement président de la Société Alzheimer de Hamilton et Halton.


M. Michael Fraleigh

Associé au sein du cabinet d'avocats Fogler, Rubinoff, Me Michael Fraleigh cumule une vaste expérience à tous les niveaux du droit de la santé. Il possède une expertise approfondie à titre de représentant des médecins, dentistes, infirmières et autres professionnels de la santé sur les questions entourant la réglementation, notamment en ce qui a trait aux plaintes, à la discipline, à l'assurance de la qualité et à l'homologation. Il représente également les médecins dans les conflits sur les droits hospitaliers, et en matière de faute médicale. En outre, il offre des conseils aux entreprises et établissements sur les questions relatives aux droits de la santé.

Me Fraleigh joue un rôle de procureur principal à tous les échelons du système judiciaire de l'Ontario, de la Cour fédérale et de la Cour d'appel fédérale, et de divers tribunaux, notamment du comité de discipline du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens, de l'Ordre royal des chirurgiens dentistes de l'Ontario, de l'Ordre des podologues, et de l'Ordre des audiologistes et des orthophonistes de l'Ontario.


Dre Wendy Horbay

La Dre Wendy Horbay (Ph. D. en biologie du développement, Université de Toronto) a consacré sa carrière à l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des patients défavorisés et à une meilleure diffusion des connaissances sur les états pathologiques graves. La Dre Horbay, qui vient de prendre sa retraite après une carrière de 18 ans dans le domaine de la recherche et du développement pharmaceutique, ainsi que du développement clinique après la mise en marché, possède de vastes connaissances scientifiques et cliniques reliées aux œuvres caritatives en santé.

La Dre Horbay a été membre du conseil d'administration de la Société Parkinson du Canada de 2013 à 2015. En janvier 2016, elle a été élue au sein du nouveau conseil d'administration de Parkinson Canada après sa réorganisation, et elle continue aujourd'hui d'assumer son mandat. Elle occupe également le poste de vice-présidente du comité des politiques de recherche de Parkinson Canada. De plus, elle a siégé au comité de la sensibilisation nationale de l'ancienne Société Parkinson du Canada. Elle a également joué un rôle bénévole à titre de porte-parole de la Fondation canadienne du cancer du sein (2011-2015), de vice-présidente du Weekend pour vaincre les cancers féminins de la Fondation de l'Hôpital Princess Margaret (2010-12), et elle prodigue des services aux personnes âgées, dont celles atteintes de la maladie de Parkinson avec perte des fonctions cognitives. 


MKaren Hacker

Photo of Karen Hacker

Avocate et cadre de direction établie à Toronto, Me Karen Hacker a travaillé au sein du comité organisateur des Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricain TO2015, qui ont eu lieu à Toronto au cours de l'été 2015. À ce titre, elle a été tour à tour avocate générale, secrétaire générale et vice-présidente en chef des ressources humaines et des bénévoles. Elle a également été membre de l'équipe de la haute direction, relevant du directeur général.

Avant la tenue des Jeux, Me Hacker a travaillé au sein de nombreuses entreprises et industries, notamment dans les domaines du cinéma et du divertissement, des jouets, de l'imprimerie et de l'édition. Après les Jeux, elle a brièvement été à l'emploi de Sport interuniversitaire canadien, à titre de directrice générale intérimaire. Forte de son expérience et de ses connaissances dans la gouvernance au sein d'une variété de conseils d'administration (notamment au sein du conseil canadien des Jeux du Commonwealth), Me Hacker est déterminée à aider le conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario à atteindre son maximum d'efficacité.


M. Gaston Franklyn

Photo of Gaston Franklyn

Formateur de profession, M. Franklyn est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès art, d'une maîtrise et d'un doctorat en éducation de diverses universités canadiennes. Il a été instituteur à l'école primaire à Trinidad, et professeur au secondaire et post secondaire dans des établissements canadiens.
Immédiatement avant de prendre sa retraite, il était vice-recteur à l'enseignement au Collège St. Clair d'art appliqué et de technologie. Après sa retraite, il a travaillé au sein de l'ACDI et de la Banque mondiale à titre de consultant international sur la gestion du changement dans le domaine de l'éducation en Chine, en Thaïlande, en Syrie, dans les Philippines et dans les Antilles.


M. Franklyn a déjà occupé le poste de président du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer du comté de Windsor-Essex, et de président du comité des mises en candidature et de la gouvernance et du comité consultatif communautaire. Il est présentement membre du conseil d'administration des services policiers de Windsor, et de Santé mentale pour les enfants de l'Ontario.


Mme Nancy Hines

Photo of Nancy Hines

Avant de joindre les rangs du conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de l'Ontario, Mme Nancy Hines a siégé au conseil d'administration de la Société Alzheimer de London et de Middlesex pendant six ans, aussi bien à titre de directrice que de présidente. Elle a joint les rangs du conseil après le décès de sa mère des suites d'une dégénérescence lobaire fronto-temporale. Elle a également fait du bénévolat dans le cadre du programme Teleconnect et elle anime mensuellement un groupe de soutien pour les conjoints de personnes atteintes d'un trouble cognitif léger.


Sa formation universitaire en sciences humaines et ses antécédents familiaux en entrepreneuriat ont donné à Mme Hines les compétences nécessaires pour faire grandir son entreprise familiale, qui occupe un créneau spécialisé du secteur privé. L'entreprise, située en région, dispose maintenant d'un réseau mondial de revendeurs. Mme Hines a également été, pendant sept ans, membre bénévole et présidente du conseil de développement économique du comté de Huron.






Mise à jour : 09/13/17
Retour au début