Memory cafe event
Print

Memory Café

This program is a social program that involved persons with dementia their families, and others from the general public who are interested in learning about dementia.  The program occurs monthly, and the goal is socialization with an educational component. The Café includes a presentation on a different topic each month, followed by entertainment and refreshments. This program is geared towards people of all ages, and along all stages of the dementia journey.

What you’ll find at the Café:

Education

Information

Support

Entertainment

Refreshments

Socialization

How it all started:

The café concept began in the UK in 1997 and offered peer support and provided regular and informal sessions for people with dementia and their caregivers. It was a means of providing education and support services for those living with dementia, their loved ones and caregivers.

It began to make its way across Europe and to North America. The Alzheimer Society of New Brunswick has now made it a priority to offer Memory Cafés in communities across our province to those families impacted by Alzheimer’s disease and dementia.

The Objectives:

To support the educational, emotional and socialization needs of the attendees on a monthly basis.

To encourage the building of natural support networks among families and in turn helping reduce the isolation often associated with caregiving.

To offer a stigma free program for all those diagnosed with Alzheimer’s or a related dementia.

The Mission:

The mission of the Memory Café is to create an atmosphere of inclusiveness. No matter what stage of the disease, those diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia, their families, health care professional, and the general public are all invited to join and contribute to this program.

Exciting Volunteer Opportunity

Do you have 4-5 hours per month to become a Memory Café Committee Member?

The Alzheimer Society is seeking a group of people interested in being on a planning committee for the Memory Café. Being a member of the Memory Café Committee will provide you with an opportunity to collaborate with the Alzheimer Society in the planning and execution of this event.

There are many opportunities for everyone to get involved such as:

  • Helping serve refreshments and taking photos of the event
  • Creating a friendly environment for all attendees
  • Talking and listening to people with dementia and their caregivers in a sensitive and supportive way
  • Joining in with social activities that benefit the individual
  • Help to promote the café through community boards, posters, word-of-mouth, etc.
  • Attend regular planning committee meetings
  • Help find appropriate guest speakers and entertainment as needed

For more information or to get involved please contact us at info@alzheimernb.ca or 1-800-664-8411 We are hoping to launch additional Memory Cafés in Campbellton, Shippagan, and in any other interested communities!


Last Updated: 02/07/17
Back to top

Nos services

Memory cafe event
Imprimer

Café de la mémoire

Le Café de la mémoire est un programme à composante sociale destiné à faire participer les personnes atteintes de démence, leur famille et les autres personnes du public qui désirent en apprendre davantage sur la démence. Le programme a lieu chaque mois, et a pour objectif la socialisation et un volet éducatif. Le Café de la mémoire comprend un exposé sur un sujet différent chaque mois, des divertissements et des rafraîchissements. Ce programme s’adresse aux personnes de tout âge et à tous les stades de la démence. 

Ce que vous trouverez au Café de la Mémoire :

Formation

Renseignements

Soutien

Divertissements

Rafraîchissements

Occasions de rencontrer des gens et de nouer des relations

Comment tout cela a-t-il commencé :

Le concept du Café de la Mémoire a vu le jour au Royaume-Uni, en 1997. L’activité offrait du soutien par les pairs et des séances toutes simples sur une base régulières aux personnes atteintes de démence et à leurs aidants naturels. Il s’agissait d’un moyen de fournir de la formation et des services de soutien aux personnes vivant avec une démence, à leurs proches et à leurs aidants naturels.

Puis le concept a commencé à s’étendre en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. Aujourd’hui, la Société Alzheimer du Nouveau-Brunswick en a fait une priorité d’offrir des Cafés de la Mémoire dans les collectivités partout dans notre province pour les familles touchées par la maladie d’Alzheimer ou par une démence. 

Les objectifs :

-Répondre aux besoins éducatifs, affectifs et de socialisation des participants sur une base mensuelle.
-Encourager la mise en œuvre de réseaux de soutien naturel parmi les familles et, du fait même, aider à rompre l’isolement souvent associé à la prise en charge d’une personne.
-Offrir un programme exempt de stigmatisation à toutes les personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une démence connexe.

La mission :

Le Café de la Mémoire s’est donné pour mission de créer un climat d’inclusion. Les personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une démence connexe – peu importe le stade de leur maladie –, leur famille, les professionnels de la santé et le public en général sont tous invités à se joindre au programme et à y contribuer. 

Occasions de bénévolat intéressantes

Disposez-vous de 4 à 5 heures par mois pour devenir membre du comité du Café-mémoire?

La Société Alzheimer est à la recherche d’un groupe de personnes intéressées à faire partie du comité pour le Café Mémoire. L’objectif du Café Mémoire est de créer une atmosphère accueillante pour les gens qui souffrent de la maladie d’Alzheimer ou d’une démence et leurs proches. Le café répond aux besoins d’éducation, émotionnels et sociaux des gens qui participent et encourage le soutien entre la famille et les amis.

Être membre du comité Café Mémoire est une occasion de collaborer avec la Société Alzheimer lors de la planification et du déroulement de cette activité.

Beaucoup de possibilités sont offertes à quiconque veut participer, par exemple :

  • Aider à servir les collations et prendre des photos lors de l’évènement
  • Créer une atmosphère accueillante pour les participants
  • Écouter et parler aux gens atteints de la démence et leurs proches
  • Participer aux activités sociales
  • Aider à promouvoir le café mémoire
  • Assister aux réunions du comité
  • Aider à trouver les présentateurs ou les activités au besoin

Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour participer, veuillez nous contacter à l’adresse info@alzheimernb.ca ou au numéro 1-800-664-8411 Nous espérons lancer d’autres Cafés-mémoire à Campbellton, Shippagan et dans toute autre collectivité intéressée!


Mise à jour : 02/07/17
Retour au début