Programs and services

Information, support groups and education

The Federation of Quebec Alzheimer Societies support the 20 local Alzheimer Societies of Quebec who offer a various number of programs and services for people living with Alzheimer disease and related dementia.

The Federation of Quebec Alzheimer Societies would like to highlight the engagement, the determination and the remarkable work done by staff and volunteers of the 20 Alzheimer Societies in Quebec. All together contribute in improving the quality of life of thousands of people living with the disease and their families making a real difference in their lives.

Programs and services of the 20 Alzheimer Societies of Quebec

Counselling and follow up offer an empathic listening, gives answers to some of your questions, advices on how to support and communicate with patients and suggest appropriate steps while insuring follow us are made.

Support groups are offered to people living with dementia as well as their caregivers in order to improve their knowledge, their ability to get a better quality of life and to find comfort in mutual support and solidarity.  

Respite and stimulation sessions can take different forms in terms of time, frequency and place and represent the best way for caregivers to recharge. The stimulation helps patients to maintain their existing capacities, in respects to their values, and their daily routines.

Education consists of a series of sessions that prepare participants to better understand the reality of people living with dementia in order to better guide them. By giving them appropriate information on Alzheimer, the different training sessions develop in depth several important issues in order to better grasp disruptive behaviour, to acquire a suitable communication mode, to recognise that each individual experience the disease in a different way and finally to have a self introspection to better help each other.

Raising awareness on Alzheimer disease and its consequences aim to inform the general public on its symptoms, personal and social consequences in order to expand the network of support which is essential to maintain a good quality of life for people living with dementia and their families.

Care facilities are proposed by some Alzheimer Societies. This service allows residents to live in a “family like” environment and to take part at daily life activities.

First Link is a reference programme for health care professionals developped to direct people with Alzheimer disease, their caregivers and their families towards the available services offered by Alzheimer Societies, as soon as they received a diagnostic and throughout the disease.

MedicAlert® Secu-retourMD is a national program initiated by Alzheimer Society of Canada, in collaboration with the Canadian Foundation MedicAlert® Secu-RetourMD. Personal information as well as a toll free emergency number are engraved into the MedicAlert bracelet. If the person is lost, a police officer will be able to identify her very quickly by calling the emergency number available 24/7, and bring her safely home.


Last Updated: 11/08/2017

Imprimer

Programmes et services

L’information, les services de soutien et la formation

La Fédération québécoise des Sociétés Alzheimer tient à souligner l’engagement, la détermination et le travail remarquable du personnel et des bénévoles des 20 Sociétés Alzheimer régionales. Ces professionnels contribuent à améliorer la qualité de vie de milliers de personnes atteintes de la maladie et leurs proches en faisant une réelle différence dans leur quotidien. De plus, ils contribuent à sensibiliser le grand public afin de développer une conscience sociale sur les conséquences de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Les consultations et suivis permettent d’offrir une écoute empathique, de répondre aux interrogations, de conseiller sur l’accompagnement et la communication avec la personne atteinte et de suggérer les démarches appropriées, tout en assurant un suivi à la fréquence convenue.

Les groupes de soutien sont offerts aux personnes atteintes ainsi qu’aux aidants afin de parfaire leurs connaissances et leurs aptitudes pour optimiser la qualité de vie de tous et de trouver du réconfort par des relations d’entraide et de solidarité.

Le répit-stimulation peut prendre différentes formes, en terme de durée, de fréquence et de lieu et représente un moyen pour l’aidant de se ressourcer. La stimulation aide au maintien des capacités existantes de la personne atteinte dans le respect de ses valeurs et de ses routines quotidiennes.

 La formation consiste en une série d’ateliers qui préparent les participants à mieux saisir la réalité de la personne vivant avec la maladie et ainsi, mieux l’accompagner. En plus d’offrir des connaissances spécifiques sur la maladie d’Alzheimer, la formation développe de manière approfondie plusieurs sujets importants en vue d’apprivoiser les comportements dérangeants, d’acquérir un mode de communication adapté à la personne atteinte, de reconnaître que chaque individu vit la maladie de façon différente et de poser un regard critique sur soi afin de mieux accompagner l’autre.

La sensibilisation à la maladie d’Alzheimer et à ses conséquences vise à informer le grand public sur la maladie, ses symptômes, ses conséquences personnelles et sociétales ainsi qu’à étendre le réseau de support social nécessaire au maintien d’une qualité de vie chez les personnes atteintes et leurs proches.

L’hébergement offert par certaines Sociétés permet aux résidents de vivre dans un environnement qui se rapproche du milieu familial et qui facilite la participation aux activités de la vie quotidienne dans le respect de leurs valeurs, de leur rythme et leurs goûts.

Premier lienMD est un programme de référence visant à aider les partenaires du milieu de la santé et des services sociaux à diriger les personnes atteintes de la maladie, les proches aidants et les familles vers les services offerts par les 20 Sociétés Alzheimer régionales dès le diagnostic et tout au long de la maladie.

MédicAlertR Sécu-RetourMD est un programme national initialement développé par la Société Alzheimer du Canada. Ce programme est maintenant accessible par l’entremise de la Fondation canadienne MedicAlert. Les renseignements personnels et le numéro de la ligne d’urgence sont gravés sur un bracelet ou un collier MedicAlert qui est porté en permanence par la personne atteinte de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Si jamais elle se perdait, un agent de la police pourra l’identifier rapidement en appelant la ligne d’urgence 24 heures MedicAlert.


Mise à jour : 12/09/13
Retour au début