About dementia

Print

Vascular dementia

What is vascular dementia?

Vascular dementia (VaD), also called multi-infarct dementia, occurs when the cells in the brain are deprived of oxygen. A network of blood vessels called the vascular system supplies the brain with oxygen. If there is a blockage in the vascular system, or if it is diseased, blood is prevented from reaching the brain. As a result, cells in the brain die, leading to the symptoms of dementia. After Alzheimer's disease, VaD is the second leading form of dementia, accounting for up to 20% of all cases.

When Alzheimer's disease and VaD occur at the same time, the condition is called "mixed dementia".

How does vascular dementia affect the person?

Stroke and vascular dementia

Stroke is a common cause of VaD. A stroke occurs when blood flow in the brain is blocked or a blood vessel bleeds, preventing the blood from flowing properly through the vessel. When this happens, the brain cells cannot get oxygen and they die. Strokes can be large or small, and can have a cumulative effect, which means each stroke adds more to the problem. Strokes can affect how a person can walk, and cause weakness in an arm or leg, slurred speech or emotional outbursts. The difficulties the person has depend on the part of the brain that did not get the oxygen.

Vascular dementia usually comes on suddenly. Difficulties may happen in steps. Sometimes, the person’s abilities may deteriorate for a while and then stand still for a time. Then, they may deteriorate again. The cognitive symptoms, the ability to think, may change, affecting some areas of the brain more or less than others (e.g., the areas that control language, vision or memory). Urinary difficulties (difficulty going to the bathroom) are common in people who have VaD.

Binswanger's disease

Binswanger's disease is a rare form of VaD that is caused by damage to blood vessels deep in the brain's "white matter." High blood pressure plays an important role in Binswanger's disease.

How is vascular dementia assessed?

If VaD is suspected, the doctor will often order scans of the brain in order to check for blockages or narrowing of blood vessels in the brain.

What are the risk factors for vascular dementia?

Both men and women can be affected by vascular dementia. Risk factors include:

  • Being older than 65
  • Having high blood pressure (hypertension)
  • Having heart disease
  • Having diabetes

Smoking, being overweight, having high cholesterol levels and having a family history of heart problems may also increase the risk of having stroke, which increases the risk of vascular dementia. Mini-strokes (sometimes called transient ischemic attacks or TIAs) are warning signs that a stroke may come. Losing vision, speech or strength temporarily, or having short episodes of numbness may mean someone is having a TIA.

Routine brain scans in a group of middle-aged people showed that 10 per cent of them had had a stroke but did not know about it. Having the stroke, even if they did not know, raised their risk for more strokes and memory loss. These silent cerebral infarctions (SCIs, or silent strokes) are caused by a blood clot that blocks the blood flow to the brain. Many times, silent strokes are considered to make up a risk factor for vascular dementia. People with atrial fibrillation, the most common type of irregular heart beat in people over 65, have more than twice the normal rate of these silent strokes.

Knowing the risk factors for vascular dementia is important because often they may be treated, to reduce the risk of having a stroke. Risk factors can be reduced by adopting a healthy lifestyle that includes regular physical activity, eating well, avoiding smoking and reducing stress. Medications can control high blood pressure, diabetes and heart disease.

Is there treatment?

After a person has a stroke, medication may be prescribed to improve blood flow to the brain and reduce the risk of further stroke. A person may also benefit from different therapies to help with movement and speech, such as physiotherapy, occupational therapy or speech therapy. Aside from the treatment of the underlying causes of vascular dementia such as hypertension, high cholesterol and diabetes, some physicians routinely recommend the use of medications called cholinesterase inhibitors.

For more information:

[The contents of this document are provided for information purposes only, and do not represent advice, an endorsement or a recommendation, with respect to any product, serve or enterprise, and/or the claims and properties thereof, by the Alzheimer Society of Canada. The Information Sheet is not intended to replace clinical diagnosis by a health professional.]


Last Updated: 02/16/12
Back to top

La maladie cérébro-vasculaire

La maladie cérébro-vasculaire est aussi appelée « démence » à infarctus multiples. Elle se produit lorsque les cellules du cerveau sont privées d’oxygène. Le système vasculaire est un réseau de vaisseaux sanguins qui transporte l’oxygène au cerveau. Un blocage ou une maladie du système vasculaire peut empêcher le sang d’atteindre le cerveau. Cela entraîne la mort des cellules et provoque les symptômes de troubles cognitifs.

On appelle les troubles cognitifs mixtes la manifestation simultanée de la maladie d’Alzheimer et de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire.

Comment la maladie cérébro-vasculaire affecte-t-elle la personne atteinte?

Accidents vasculaires cérébraux (AVC) et la maladie cérébro-vasculaire

Les AVC sont une cause courante de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire. Ceux-ci se produisent lorsque la circulation du sang vers le cerveau est bloquée. Les cellules cérébrales sont alors privées d’oxygène et meurent. Les AVC peuvent être légers ou lourds et avoir un effet cumulatif, chaque AVC aggravant davantage le problème. Les AVC peuvent affecter la capacité de la personne à marcher, causer une faiblesse dans le bras ou la jambe, provoquer des troubles d’élocution ou des sautes d’humeur. Les difficultés ressenties dépendent des parties du cerveau privées d’oxygène.

En général, la maladie cérébro-vasculaire survient subitement. Les déficiences peuvent se produire par étape. Parfois, les capacités de la personne se détériorent pendant quelque temps, restent stables pendant une certaine période, puis recommencent à se détériorer. Les symptômes cognitifs (la capacité de réfléchir) varient et affectent diverses régions du cerveau à des degrés différents (langage, vue, mémoire, etc.). Il est fréquent que les personnes atteintes de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire souffrent de troubles urinaires.

Maladie de Binswanger

La maladie de Binswanger est une forme rare de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire. Elle est causée par une atteinte des vaisseaux sanguins dans les zones profondes de la « matière blanche » du cerveau. L’hypertension artérielle joue un rôle important dans cette maladie.

Comment évalue-t-on la maladie cérébro-vasculaire?

Si le médecin soupçonne la maladie cérébro-vasculaire, il demandera alors au patient de faire une scintigraphie cérébrale pour examiner les éventuels blocages ou rétrécissements des vaisseaux sanguins.

Quels sont les facteurs de risque de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire?

La maladie cérébro-vasculaire touche autant les hommes que les femmes. Les facteurs de risque sont, notamment :

  • l’âge (plus de 65 ans)
  • l’hypertension
  • les maladies cardiaques
  • le diabète

Le tabagisme, l’excès de poids, les taux élevés de cholestérol et des antécédents familiaux de maladies cardiaques peuvent aussi accroître le risque d’AVC et, par conséquent, le risque de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire. Les AVC légers (souvent appelés accidents ischémiques transitoires ou AIT) sont les signes précurseurs d’un accident cérébral vasculaire imminent. La perte temporaire de la vue, de la parole ou de la force ou des brefs épisodes d’engourdissement peuvent indiquer un AIT.

Des scintigraphies cérébrales de routine chez un groupe de personnes d’âge moyen ont révélé que 10 % d’entre elles avaient eu un AVC sans le savoir. Cela augmentait leur risque futur d’AVC et de perte de mémoire. De tels infarctus cérébraux silencieux (ou AVC silencieux) sont des lésions cérébrales causées par un caillot qui empêche le sang de se rendre au cerveau. Dans plusieurs cas, les AVC silencieux sont considérés comme un facteur de risque de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire. Les personnes qui souffrent de fibrillation auriculaire, la forme la plus courante d’arythmie cardiaque chez les personnes de plus de 65 ans, présentent un taux deux fois plus élevé d’AVC silencieux.

Il est important de déterminer les facteurs de risque de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire car, souvent, on peut traiter et diminuer le risque d’AVC. Ceux-ci peuvent être réduits par l’adoption de modes de vie sains, à savoir une activité physique régulière, une bonne alimentation, l’abstention de fumer et la réduction du stress. Des médicaments existent pour contrôler l’hypertension artérielle, le diabète et les maladies cardiaques.

Existe-t-il un traitement?

À la suite d’un AVC, on peut prescrire des médicaments pour améliorer l’irrigation sanguine du cerveau et réduire les risques de nouveaux accidents. Divers traitements pourraient aussi contribuer à améliorer la mobilité et la parole, comme la physiothérapie, l’ergothérapie et l’orthophonie. En plus de traiter les causes sous-jacentes de la maladie cérébro-vasculaire comme l’hypertension, les taux de cholestérol élevés et le diabète, certains médecins prescrivent systématiquement des médicaments appelés inhibiteurs de la cholinestérase.

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

 Communiquez avec votre Société Alzheimer locale ou consultez la section Aide de notre site web.


Last Updated: 02/16/2012