Research highlights

The latest on events, meetings, and research about Alzheimer's disease and other dementias.


The Alzheimer Society is delighted to participate in a variety of meetings and events with leading experts from the medical and scientific research communities. Read more about the following conferences:

AAIC 2016 conference
AAIC 2015 conference
Café Scientifique on Dealing with Dementia: Life Beyond Diagnosis
AAIC 2014 conference
2013 Canadian Conference on Dementia
AAIC 2013 conference

Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA)

The first major data release from the Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA) is underway. Researchers interested in accessing the CLSA platform are invited to visit the DataPreview Portal on the CLSA website for detailed information about the available data and the application process.

The CLSA is the most comprehensive study of aging ever undertaken in Canada. The study will follow 50,000 individuals aged 45 to 85 for 20 years, collecting information about their physical, emotional and social health through telephone interviews, in-home interviews and physical assessments.

The CLSA data will enable researchers to pursue projects investigating the development of disease and disability as people age. The longitudinal data will provide opportunities to explore the impact of non-medical factors, such as caregiving and social support, on individuals from mid-life to older age.

The June 2014 release includes the first data collected from 21,242 participants who completed 60-minute telephone interviews. Canadian and international public sector researchers are eligible to apply. Data will be available to researchers following submission and review of applications by the CLSA Data and Sample Access Committee. The process for accessing biospecimens and physical assessment data from 30,000 participants who are seen in person is currently being developed in anticipation of the first release of these data in 2016.

For more information, or to apply for access, visit

Nutrition and dementia: a review of available research

Published by Alzheimer’s Disease International (ADI), London, February 2014 (PDF)

Prepared by Professor Martin Prince, Professor Emiliano Albanese, Dr Maëlenn Guerchet and Dr Matthew Prina for the Global Observatory for Ageing and Dementia Care, King’s College London. They have reviewed a number of areas in existing research regarding the relevance of nutritional factors to primary and secondary prevention of dementia, undernutrition in dementia and interventions to improve the nutrition of people living with dementia.

Last Updated: 08/25/16
Back to top

Imprimer

Faits saillants sur la recherche

Nouvelles, événements, et informations au sujet des recherches les plus récentes sur l'Alzheimer et les maladies apparentées.

Conférences

Il nous fait toujours très plaisir de participer à une variété de réunions et d'événements avec des spécialistes du monde de recherche médical et scientifique. En savoir plus sur les conférences suivantes:

Congrès international de l’Alzheimer’s Association 2016
Congrès international de l’Alzheimer’s Association 2015
Café Scientifique sous le thème de : « Faire face à l’Alzheimer et aux maladies apparentées : La vie après le diagnostic. »
Congrès international de l’Alzheimer’s Association 2014
Congrès canadien sur l’Alzheimer et les maladies apparentées 2013
Congrès international de l’Alzheimer’s Association 2013

Étude longitudinale canadienne sur le vieillissement (ÉLCV)

La première émission importante de données de l’Étude longitudinale canadienne sur le vieillissement (ÉLCV) est en cours. Les chercheurs qui désirent avoir accès à la plateforme de l’ÉLCV sont invités à visiter le Portail de données sur le site Web de l’ÉLCV pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur les données disponibles et la procédure de demande d’accès.

L’ÉLCV est l’étude la plus complète sur le vieillissement jamais menée au Canada. Elle suivra pendant 20 ans 50 000 participants âgés de 45 à 85 ans et recueillera de l’information sur leur santé physique, psychologique et sociale grâce à des entrevues, téléphoniques ou en personne, et des évaluations physiques.

Les données de l’ÉLCV permettront aux chercheurs d’étudier le développement de maladies et d’incapacités au fur et à mesure que les personnes vieillissent. Comme les données sont longitudinales, les chercheurs pourront explorer l’influence de facteurs non médicaux, comme la prestation de soins et le soutien social, à partir de la mi-quarantaine jusqu’à un âge plus avancé.

L’émission de données de juin 2014 comprend les premières données recueillies auprès des 21 242 participants qui ont pris part à une entrevue téléphonique de 60 minutes. Les chercheurs du secteur public au Canada et à l’étranger peuvent faire une demande d’accès. Les données seront mises à la disposition des chercheurs qui auront soumis une demande après l’évaluation de celle-ci par le Comité chargé de l’accès aux données et aux échantillons de l’ÉLCV. La procédure pour l’accès aux échantillons biologiques et aux données des tests physiques recueillis chez les 30 000 participants qui font l’entrevue en personne est actuellement en développement. On prévoit que ces données seront disponibles en 2016.

Pour en savoir plus ou pour faire une demande d’accès, visitez le www.clsa-elcv.ca/fr.

Nutrition and dementia: a review of available research

Publié par Alzheimer’s Disease International (ADI), London, February 2014 (PDF, disponible en anglais seulement)
Préparé par Professor Martin Prince, Professor Emiliano Albanese, Dr Maëlenn Guerchet and Dr Matthew Prina for the Global Observatory for Ageing and Dementia Care, King’s College London.


Mise à jour : 09/13/16
Retour au début