Compassionate care benefits

Dementia and end-of-life care

Compassionate care benefits

You may be eligible to receive Employment Insurance (EI) compassionate care benefits if you are absent from work to provide care or support to a gravely ill family member at risk of dying within a number of weeks. If you are self-employed, you may apply for special EI benefits if you are registered for access to the EI program.

The Government of Canada has announced a new EI program, the Family Caregiver benefit for adults. Starting December 3, 2017, eligible caregivers may take up to 15 weeks off work to care for or support an adult family member who is critically ill or injured. For more information, visit the Government web page on the Family Caregiver benefit.

For more information about compassionate care benefits, you may contact the EI Telephone Information Service at 1-800-206-7218 or refer to Service Canada – Employment Insurance Compassionate Care Benefits.

Next section: Government benefits after death

Menu

Prestations de compassion

Les maladies cognitives et les soins en fin de vie

Prestations de compassion

Vous pouvez recevoir des prestations de compassion – une forme de prestation d'assurance-emploi – si vous devez vous absenter du travail pour fournir des soins ou du soutien à un membre de la famille atteint d’une maladie grave qui pourrait décéder dans les quelques semaines à venir. Si vous travaillez à votre compte, vous pouvez faire une demande de prestations spéciales si vous êtes inscrit pour avoir accès au programme d’assurance-emploi.

Le gouvernement du Canada vient de rendre public un nouveau programme d’assurance emploi (AE) : la prestation d’assurance-emploi pour proches aidants destinée aux adultes. À partir du 3 décembre 2017, les aidants éligibles pourront prendre jusqu’à 15 jours de congé de leur travail pour prendre soin ou aider un membre de leur famille adulte gravement malade ou blessé. Pour plus d’informations, rendez-vous sur la page Web du gouvernement expliquant la prestation d’assurance-emploi pour proches aidants.

Pour plus de renseignements concernant les prestations de compassion, vous pouvez contacter le service d’information téléphonique d’assurance-emploi au 1-800-206-7218 ou consulter Service Canada – Assurance-emploi et prestations de compassion.

Section suivante : Prestations gouvernementales suite à un décès

Menu