Print

Meet volunteers from across the country

Learn what it's like to volunteer with us and the types of projects you could get involved in:

Odette Bourgeois

Odette

"Like many, I volunteer because of my personal experience with the disease. I volunteer at the Society's Vancouver Resource Centre, preparing materials for different dementia education sessions and doing general office work, and at the Society’s Provincial Office, where I gather statistical data that will help the Society better serve people living with dementia." - Odette Bourgeois, volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of British Columbia

Read more >


Marilyn McCorrister

Marilyn

"As a retiree, volunteering at the Alzheimer Society gives me a sense of purpose. It’s flexible and there’s a lot of variety in the work. When I walk through the front doors of the Society, I’m never exactly sure what the day will bring. On one day, I may be tasked with amalgamating workshop evaluations, and on another I may find myself creating brain challenging games for the Minds in Motion® program." - Marilyn McCorrister, volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Manitoba

Read more >


John Clarke

John

"My father lived the journey of Alzheimer’s, so after I retired I wanted to give back to the community in a meaningful way that benefitted others dealing with the disease. I help out the Alzheimer Society any way I can, and that includes making deliveries and pick-ups of educational material as well as supporting fund development initiatives." - John Clarke, volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Newfoundland and Labrador


Josie Erlach

Josie

"I have been volunteering with the Alzheimer Society for about 6 years, and I have no plans of stopping anytime soon. Mostly I help around the office, preparing mail outs, folding t-shirts or sorting surveys. But I have also been known to don the Hali Derby duck costume and participate in events around the city. That’s right, I dress like a duck and I like it!" - Josie Erlach, volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia

Read more >


Jaclyn Turpin

Jaclyn

"I am a student at King’s University College studying Family Studies and Thanatology (bereavement and grief). Volunteering with the Alzheimer Society allows me to put my academic knowledge to practice. As a support services volunteer, I help review the current programming and research its benefits to clients. I also initiated a new program called Touch Quilts." - Jaclyn Turpin, volunteer with the Alzheimer Society of Oxford (Ontario)

Read more >



Last Updated: 04/13/16
Back to top

Imprimer

Faites la connaissance des bénévoles à travers le pays

Apprenez ce que c’est de faire du bénévolat avec nous et renseignez-vous sur les types de projets dans lesquels vous pourriez vous impliquer :

Odette Bourgeois

Odette

« Comme tant d’autres, je suis bénévole à cause de mon expérience personnelle avec la maladie. Je suis bénévole au Centre de ressources de la Société à Vancouver, où je prépare des documents pour différentes séances d’éducation consacrées aux troubles cognitifs. J’y fais aussi du travail de bureau d’ordre général. Je suis également bénévole au bureau provincial de la Société : je rassemble des données statistiques qui aideront la Société à mieux servir les personnes atteintes de troubles cognitifs. » - Odette Bourgeois, bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de la Colombie-Britannique

En lire plus >


Marilyn McCorrister

Marilyn

« En tant que retraitée, mon role de bénévole auprès de la Société Alzheimer me donne le sentiment d'avoir un but. C’est très flexible et le travail est très varié. Lorsque je passe la porte de la Société, je ne sais jamais à quoi m’attendre. Un jour, je pourrais avoir la tâche de compiler des évaluations d’atelier, et un autre, je pourrais inventer des casse-têtes pour le programme Minds in MotionMD» - Marilyn McCorrister, bénévole à la Société Alzheimer du Manitoba

En lire plus >


John Clarke

John

« Mon père a été atteint de la maladie d’Alzheimer, alors après avoir pris ma retraite, je voulais donner en retour à la communauté d’une manière significative qui serait bénéfique pour d’autres personnes atteintes de la maladie. J’aide de toutes les manières possibles – je fais des livraisons de documents éducatifs et j’aide avec des initiatives de développement des fonds. » - John Clarke, bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador


Josie Erlach

Josie

« Je suis bénévole à la Société Alzheimer depuis 6 ans, et je n’ai aucune intention de m’arrêter! J’aide majoritairement au bureau; je prépare le courrier à envoyer, je plie des t-shirts ou je classe des enquêtes. Mais, on me connait aussi comme la personne qui porte le déguisement du canard « Hali Derby » et qui participe à des événements dans la ville! C’est bien ça! Je me déguise en canard, et j’aime ça! » - Josie Erlach, bénévole à la Société Alzheimer de la Nouvelle-Écosse

En lire plus >



Mise à jour : 04/13/16
Retour au début