Print

About this site

Viewing this site

This site aims to be accessible to all. We do make an effort to ensure that our site is accessible for users with older browsers, but the site may not look as it is intended. If you are having trouble or have any questions, please contact the webmaster.

The current version of Adobe Reader PDF viewer is not fully compatible with Internet Explorer 9; if you experience problems opening a PDF file, try saving the file and opening it from your own computer, or try using a different web browser, such as Chrome, Firefox, or Safari. In most cases this should resolve the problem. Please see the Adobe website for more information.

Copyright and permission to reproduce

This website design and content, including text, graphics and photographs, are copyrighted by the Alzheimer Society of Canada, unless otherwise credited to the creator of the work. They are protected by copyright under Canadian, United States and foreign laws.

If you would like to reproduce any material on this site for any purpose other than personal use, contact the webmaster with your request.

Requests to use information from our site on another website will be evaluated on an individual basis.

As content is updated frequently, we prefer that other sites link to our website instead of reproducing content so that it is always up-to-date.

Linking policy

This website contains links to websites operated by parties other than partners of the Alzheimer Society Federation of Canada. These links are provided for your convenience and information, and Alzheimer Society assumes no responsibility for the information provided on them. The inclusion of links to other websites does not imply endorsement of the material on those websites or any association with their publishers.

Other websites are free to link to this site and formal requests are not required. If you intend to link to this website, link to the home page www.alzheimer.ca to ensure that the link does not become broken as this website is periodically updated and revised. If you wish to add a text introduction to the link, we request that you use:

The Alzheimer Society is Canada’s leading health charity for people living with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias.

Links to the Alzheimer Society website must not use any branded Alzheimer Society logos, including the Forget Me Not symbol or program-specific logos such as First Link®, Coffee Break® or MedicAlert® Safely Home®, when creating the link.

Please note that reciprocal links are not often granted due to the volume of requests submitted.

Important Notice and Disclaimer

Alzheimer Society of Canada owns, operates and manages this website in a representative capacity on behalf of itself and certain other partners of the Alzheimer Society Federation of Canada (the “Federation”). The Federation is an unincorporated association of Canadian charitable organizations for people living with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias. The management and enforcement of, and compliance with, legal rights and obligations in connection with this website are the responsibility of the Alzheimer Society of Canada acting in its aforementioned representative capacity. Individual partners of the Federation may in their own capacities also be entitled and obligated to enforce legal rights or obligations which pertain specifically to them.

The term “Alzheimer Society” is a registered trade mark of the Alzheimer Society of Canada and is used under license or with permission by Alzheimer Societies across Canada. “Alzheimer Society” does not refer to, is not the legal name of, and does not represent, a specific legal entity, unless specifically stated otherwise.” 

The Alzheimer Society strives to provide unbiased, accurate, timely and up-to-date information on this site. All information has been prepared in consultation with leading Canadian Alzheimer physicians, health-care professionals and researchers. Much of the Alzheimer care information has been developed with input from caregivers and people with Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia across Canada.

We provide information on Alzheimer medications currently available in Canada. While we provide information on specific drugs, this is for your information only and does not represent an endorsement of any drugs by the Alzheimer Society, nor is it a comprehensive list of all drugs used to treat dementia or being tested for that purpose.

Medical information presented in this site has been reviewed and approved by Dr. Larry W. Chambers, PhD, Scientific Advisor for the Alzheimer Society of Canada.

We offer information, not medical advice

The information on this site is presented for information purposes only. It is not presented as a substitute for professional medical advice. If you have any questions about your individual medical situation, always contact your doctor or other qualified health-care provider. Never disregard professional medical advice or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this site.

For help with caregiving resources, support and information on local services, contact your local Alzheimer Society.

Read the full Terms and conditions of using this website. 

Privacy

Please see our Privacy page.

User postings and submissions

The Alzheimer Society Message Board provides a place for people to come together and share thoughts, ideas and inspiration. For more information, please visit the Message Board registration page.

We welcome submissions to Creative Space – an area for people to share artwork or pieces of writing. For more information and guidelines on submitting a piece of work, please visit our Creative Space page, or send an email to the webmaster.

Cookies

A cookie is a piece of data sent to your web browser and stored on your hard drive. Cookies help us improve our website by tracking and targeting the interests of our users as they visit different sections of our site. Cookies do not contain any personal information.

Cookies are used to remember your login information for the Message Board, if you choose to save it.

In order to make our website better, we use Google Analytics to track how people use the site. Google Analytics is a web analytics service provided by Google, Inc., and it uses cookies to track information about the use of the site. This information is stored on Google’s servers in the United States and is used to compile and report on usage of the website.

You can use the Society website without cookies, but you may have to re-enter information each time you visit.

Advertising

This website does not host or receive funding from advertising or from the display of commercial content.

Questions?

For more information on caregiving resources, support and services in your community, contact your local Alzheimer Society.

If you have any questions about the content on this site, please contact the webmaster.

Terminology

 

Use of “dementia”

The Alzheimer Society’s mission is to support those affected by all forms of dementia.  In this website, the word “dementia” when used by itself with no further qualification, includes Alzheimer’s disease and other forms of irreversible and reversible dementia.   When we are referring to a specific form of dementia, such as Alzheimer’s disease, Frontotemporal dementia or Vascular dementia,  the specific form will be named.    Where we are discussing medical research or providing information where the distinction between irreversible and reversible dementia is pertinent, we will specify which of these two groups we mean, or use “Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia” to indicate all irreversible forms of dementia.

Use of “he” and “she”

 

This website uses “he” and “she” alternately to refer to an individual person with dementia and any other person living with the effects of dementia.   Our choice of pronouns  is meant to emphasize that this disease impacts both genders,  whether we are speaking of those diagnosed, caregivers, family and friends, or health care professionals.


Last Updated: 09/29/15
Back to top

Imprimer

À propos de ce site

Visualisation du site

Nous voulons rendre ce site accessible à tous. Nous l’avons bâti de telle sorte que même les internautes qui utilisent les anciennes versions des navigateurs puissent le consulter. Il se peut, toutefois, que le site ne s’affiche pas comme prévu. Si vous avez des difficultés ou des questions, merci de contacter notre webmestre.

Difficultés avec les fichiers PDF ?

La version actuelle d’Adobe Reader PDF viewer n’est pas entièrement compatible avec le navigateur Internet Explorer 9. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés en ouvrant un fichier PDF, essayez de l’enregistrer sur votre ordinateur avant de l’ouvrir. Autrement, vous pouvez utiliser un autre navigateur, comme Chrome, Firefox ou Safari. Dans la plupart des cas, cela devrait résoudre le problème. Consultez le site web d'Adobe pour en savoir plus.

Droits d'auteur et marques déposées

La conception et le contenu de ce site, y compris les textes, les graphiques et les photographies, appartiennent à la Société Alzheimer du Canada en vertu des droits d'auteur, sauf s'ils sont attribués au créateur de l’œuvre. Tous ces droits sont réservés en vertu des lois sur les droits d'auteur canadiennes, américaines et des autres pays.

Si vous voulez reproduire du contenu que vous trouverez sur ce site, pour tout autre usage que votre usage personnel, veuillez contacter notre webmestre.

Les demandes soumises par un autre site web pour utiliser l’information présentée sur notre site seront évaluées individuellement.

Puisque nous mettons fréquemment à jour l’information que nous présentons, il est préférable d’inclure un lien vers notre site plutôt que d’en reproduire le contenu. De cette façon, l’information présentée sera toujours récente.

Liens externes

Le présent site web contient des liens vers d’autres sites contrôlés par des tiers autres que les partnenaires de la Fédération de la Société Alzheimer du Canada. Ces liens vous sont fournis pour des raisons de convenance et à titre d’information, et la Société Alzheimer n’assume aucune responsabilité en ce qui a trait à leur contenu. La présence de ces liens vers d’autres sites n’implique pas l’approbation de leur contenu, ni une association avec leurs éditeurs.

Pour établir un lien vers le présent site, il n’est pas nécessaire d’en faire officiellement la demande. En raison de nos mises à jour et révisions périodiques, nous vous suggérons d’établir votre lien vers notre page d’accueil à www.alzheimer.ca. Ceci vous évitera de tomber sur un lien défectueux. Si vous voulez ajouter une présentation au lien, nous vous prions d’utiliser le texte suivant :

La Société Alzheimer du Canada est le principal organisme de santé national sans but lucratif pour les personnes touchées par l'Alzheimer et les maladies apparentées

Les liens vers le site web de la Société Alzheimer ne peuvent inclure aucun des logos de la Société Alzheimer, y compris le symbole Ne m’oubliez pasMD, ou les logos des programmes Premier LienMD, Pause CaféMD ou MedicAlertMD Sécu-RetourMD.

Veuillez noter que les liens réciproques sont rarement acceptés en raison du volume des demandes qui sont soumises.

Avis importants et dénégation de responsabilité

La Société Alzheimer du Canada possède, exploite et gère ce site web à titre représentatif, en son nom personnel et au nom de certains autres partnenaires de la Fédération de la Société Alzheimer du Canada (la « Fédération »). La Fédération est une association caritative canadienne, sans personnalité morale, au service des personnes atteintes de l’Alzheimer ou d’une maladie apparentée. La gestion et l’application des droits et obligations reconnus par la loi en ce qui a trait à ce site web sont de la responsabilité de la Société Alzheimer du Canada, à titre représentatif, comme il a été mentionné ci-dessus. Les partnenaires individuels de la Fédération sont également autorisés et obligés, dans leurs propres capacités, à appliquer les droits et obligations reconnus par la loi en ce qui les concernent précisément.

« Société Alzheimer » est une marque déposée de la Société Alzheimer du Canada ; elle peut être utilisée, sous licence ou avec permission, par les Sociétés Alzheimer à travers le pays. « Société Alzheimer » n’est pas une dénomination sociale et ne représente pas une entité juridique précise, sauf indication contraire.

La Société Alzheimer du Canada s'efforce de fournir sur ce site de l'information impartiale, exacte, opportune et récente. Cette information a été préparée en consultation avec des médecins, des professionnels des soins de la santé et des chercheurs canadiens, experts dans le domaine de la maladie d'Alzheimer au Canada. Une grande partie de l'information qui a trait aux soins a été recueillie auprès d'aidants et de personnes atteintes de l’Alzheimer ou d’une maladie apparentée, à travers le Canada.

Nous vous donnons à titre de renseignement seulement l’information sur les médicaments contre la maladie d’Alzheimer disponibles actuellement au Canada. La Société Alzheimer du Canada n’approuve pas nécessairement l'utilisation de ces médicaments. Il ne s’agit pas non plus d’une liste complète de tous les médicaments utilisés pour traiter l’Alzheimer ou une maladie apparentée, ou qui font l’objet d’une étude.

L’information médicale présentée sur ce site a été examinée et approuvée par le Dr Larry W. Chambers, Ph. D., conseiller scientifique de la Société Alzheimer du Canada.

Nous offrons de l'information et non un avis médical

L’information présentée dans ce site a pour seul objectif de vous renseigner. Elle ne doit en aucun cas remplacer l'avis d’un professionnel de la santé. Si votre état de santé vous inquiète, nous vous recommandons de toujours consulter votre médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé. N’annulez pas votre visite chez le médecin ou ne la remettez pas à plus tard en raison de l’information transmise dans ce site.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les ressources, le soutien et les services offerts aux aidants près de chez vous, veuillez communiquer avec votre Société Alzheimer locale.

Nous vous invitons à consulter toutes les conditions et exigences d'utilisation de ce site.

Confidentialité

Veuillez consulter la page Confidentialité.

Messages et articles soumis par les usagers

Le service de babillard électronique de la Société Alzheimer offre à tous un endroit pour échanger des opinions, des idées et des œuvres d’art. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, nous vous prions de visiter la page d’inscription au babillard électronique.

Vos soumissions sont les bienvenues dans notre espace de création – un endroit où vous pouvez partager vos œuvres d’art et vos textes. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et les directives sur la soumission d’une œuvre d’art, nous vous prions de visiter notre espace créatif, ou d’envoyer un courriel à notre webmestre.

Publicité

Le présent site web n'accepte aucune publicité payante et ne reçoit aucune compensation financière pour le contenu commercial qu'il reproduit.

Questions?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les ressources, le soutien et les services offerts aux aidants près de chez vous, veuillez communiquer avec votre Société Alzheimer locale.
Si vous avez des questions sur le contenu du présent site, veuillez contacter notre webmestre.

Terminologie

Utilisation du mot « démence »

Même si les médecins et les chercheurs utilisent couramment le mot « démence » pour décrire un groupe de maladies qui comprend la maladie d’Alzheimer, la Société Alzheimer préfère ne pas utiliser ce mot dans sa propre documentation. (Bien sûr, si nous citons un texte de l’extérieur qui utilise le mot, ou si le mot se retrouve dans le titre d’un programme ou le nom d’une autre organisation, nous restons fidèles à l’original.)

Le mot « démence » est péjoratif, froid et irrespectueux. Nous avons décidé d’éviter ce mot très lourd de sens afin de ne pas raviver la douleur des personnes atteintes et pour nous assurer que notre terminologie ne crée pas de barrière à l’utilisation de nos programmes et services. Dans le présent site web, nous utilisons les termes « maladie d’Alzheimer et maladies apparentées », « troubles cognitifs », ou simplement « maladie », pour décrire toutes ces formes de maladie, qu’elles soient réversibles ou irréversibles. Si nous parlons d’une maladie précise, nous utilisons le nom de cette maladie : maladie d’Alzheimer, dégénérescence fronto-temporale ou maladie cérébro-vasculaire par exemple. Lorsqu’il faut préciser la forme de trouble cognitif dont il est question, nous le faisons en y ajoutant l’adjectif « réversible » ou « irréversible ».

Usage du masculin et du féminin

Le présent site utilise la forme masculine et la forme féminine pour parler d’une personne atteinte de l’Alzheimer ou d’une maladie apparentée et les autres personnes qui doivent vivre avec les effets de la maladie. Nous voulons ainsi mettre en lumière que ces maladies touchent aussi bien des hommes que des femmes, qu’il s’agisse des personnes diagnostiquées, des aidants, de leur famille et de leurs amis, ou des professionnels des soins de la santé.


Mise à jour : 09/29/15
Retour au début