About dementia

Print

Risk factors

How can we reduce the risk?

A healthy lifestyle can help reduce the risk of Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias. It has been estimated that up to half the cases of Alzheimer’s disease worldwide may be the result of seven key modifiable risk factors: diabetes, high blood pressure, obesity, smoking, depression, cognitive inactivity or low education, and physical inactivity.

What can I do to maintain or improve my brain health?

• Be physically active
• Avoid smoking and excessive alcohol consumption
• Track your numbers: keep your blood pressure, cholesterol, blood sugar and weight within recommended ranges
• Stay connected socially and interact regularly with others
• Make healthy food choices, eat a well-balanced and healthy diet rich in cereals, fish, legumes and vegetables
• Reduce stress
• Challenge your brain by trying something new, playing games or learning a new language
• Protect your head by wearing a helmet when you engage in sporting activities

For more information, visit our Brain health section. 

Ongoing research on risk factors

Risk factors are characteristics of the person, lifestyle, environment, and genetic background that contribute to the likelihood of getting a disease. Risk factors on their own are not causes of a disease. Risk factors represent an increased chance, but not a certainty, that Alzheimer’s disease will develop. Similarly, having little or no exposure to known risk factors does not necessarily protect a person from developing the disease.

Some risk factors are modifiable, which means they can be changed (e.g., smoking, high blood pressure); other risk factors are non-modifiable, which means they cannot be changed (e.g., age, genetic makeup).

Modifiable risk factors

Risk factors for both Alzheimer’s disease and cardiovascular diseases

High cholesterol levels in the blood, high blood pressure, diabetes, smoking and obesity are the major modifiable risk factors for cardiovascular diseases, including heart disease and stroke. The risk factors for cardiovascular disease represent risk factors for both Alzheimer's disease and vascular dementia. These cardiovascular risk factors are more common in older age groups.

Smoking
Cigarette smoking is causally related to a wide range of diseases including many forms of cancer, cardiovascular disease and diabetes. . The evidence is strong and consistent that smokers (vs. non-smokers or ex-smokers) are at a 45% higher risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease. They are also at a higher risk of developing vascular dementia (although the evidence is not quite as strong) and even other forms of dementia. Also, ex-smokers reduce their risk by not smoking. This is an encouraging finding for dementia prevention, suggesting, as with other adverse impacts of smoking, that the increased risk of dementia can be avoided by quitting smoking.

High blood pressure
People who have high blood pressure (hypertension) in midlife are on average more likely to develop dementia compared to those with normal blood pressure. High blood pressure affects the heart, the arteries and blood circulation so it increases the risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease, particularly vascular dementia. Research has shown that treating high blood pressure with physical activity and better diet can bring the risk down and if this is not successful, with appropriate medications.

Diabetes
Research has shown that type 2 diabetes in midlife is associated with increased risk of dementia, Alzheimer’s disease, vascular dementia and cognitive impairment. In fact, people who have type 2 diabetes are, on average, twice as likely to develop dementia compared to those without diabetes.

High cholesterol
People with high total cholesterol levels in midlife are on average more likely to develop dementia compared to those with normal total cholesterol. Research has shown that people who have their high cholesterol treated with drugs called “statins” have a lower risk of dementia. So treating high cholesterol is important for both heart and brain health. High cholesterol is an important risk factor for hypertension and diabetes and also contributes independently to cardiovascular risk.

Obesity and lack of physical activity
Both obesity and lack of physical activity are important risk factors for diabetes and high blood pressure, and should, therefore, also be taken into consideration. Obesity in midlife may increase the risk of dementia and Alzheimer’s disease and, for that reason, should also be addressed.

Other risk factors

Alcohol
Alcohol is ranked fifth among the most important risk factors for death and disability worldwide and it has been implicated as a causal factor for more than 200 diseases and injuries, including major non-communicable diseases such as liver cirrhosis, some cancers and cardiovascular disease.
People who drink moderate amounts of alcohol have the lowest risk of developing dementia. Those who don’t drink any alcohol at all have a slightly higher risk. Those who drink excessively have the highest risk.

Low levels of formal education
Research shows that education lowers the risk of dementia. The quality and quantity of education, that protects against dementia, remains to be clarified.

Depression
People who experience depression in later life or have a history of depression may also develop dementia. However, the relationship between depression and dementia is still unclear. Many researchers believe that depression is a risk factor for dementia, whereas others believe it may be an early symptom of the disease.

Head injuries
People who experience severe or repeated head injuries are at increased risk of developing dementia. It is possible that deposits that form in the brain as a result of the injury may be linked to the onset of dementia.

Non-modifiable risk factors

Age

Alzheimer’s disease is not a normal part of aging but age is the strongest known risk factor for Alzheimer's disease. But this does not mean that most people develop the disease as they age. Most do not. Some younger people, in their 40s or 50s, are diagnosed with the young (early) onset form of the disease. After the age of 65, the risk of developing Alzheimer's disease doubles approximately every five years. The older you become, the higher the risk – 1 in 20 Canadians over age 65 and 1 in 4 of those over age 85 have Alzheimer’s disease.

It is well-established that aging can impair the body's self-repair mechanisms, including in the brain. And, many of the cardiovascular risk factors increase with age, such as high blood pressure, heart disease, and high cholesterol.

Family history and genetics

Most Alzheimer’s disease does not run in families and is described as “sporadic”. Rare cases of Alzheimer’s disease are inherited or “familial’.

Familial Alzheimer's disease
Familial Alzheimer’s disease accounts for less than 5% of all cases of Alzheimer’s disease. This form of the disease runs in families. If a person has familial Alzheimer’s disease, each of his/her children has an increased chance of inheriting the disease-causing gene and developing Alzheimer’s disease.

Familial Alzheimer’s disease is due to changes or alterations in specific genes that can be directly passed on from parent to child. Three familial Alzheimer’s disease risk genes have been discovered so far: the PS1, PS2, and APP genes. If you have an alteration in any one of these genes, you will have a greater chance of developing young (early) onset familial Alzheimer’s disease. Researchers are searching for other genes that might be associated with familial Alzheimer’s disease.

Sporadic Alzheimer’s disease
The most common form of Alzheimer’s disease is called sporadic Alzheimer’s disease. Sporadic Alzheimer’s disease is due to a complex combination of our genes, our environment, and our lifestyle. The single greatest risk factor for developing sporadic Alzheimer’s disease is aging. Most cases begin after age 60-65 years.

For more detailed information about genetics and Alzheimer’s disease, read our Understanding Genetics and Alzheimer’s Disease information sheet. 

Gender

There has been some debate that women may be more likely to develop Alzheimer’s disease than men. The international evidence has not consistently shown this to be true. More research is required to determine if other factors than age may heighten a women’s chances of developing Alzheimer’s disease.

Other

Other medical conditions that can increase a person's chances of developing dementia include Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, chronic kidney disease and HIV. Down syndrome and some other learning disabilities also increase a person's risk of dementia.

Resources

World Alzheimer Report 2014: Dementia and Risk Reduction, Alzheimer’s disease international, 2014 
Am I at risk of developing dementia?, Alzheimer’s Society UK, 2014
Your brain matters, the power of prevention, Alzheimer’s Australia, 2014


Last Updated: 12/18/14
Back to top

La maladie

Imprimer

Facteurs de risque

Comment pouvons-nous réduire le risque?

Un mode de vie sain peut aider à réduire le risque de l'Alzheimer et des maladies apparentées. On estime que près de la moitié des cas d'Alzheimer à travers le monde serait le résultat de sept principaux facteurs de risque modifiables: le diabète, l'hypertension artérielle, l'obésité, le tabagisme, la dépression, l’inactivité cognitive ou le faible niveau d'instruction, et l'inactivité physique

Vous voulez maintenir ou améliorer la santé de votre cerveau?

• Faites de l’exercice
• Évitez le tabac et la consommation excessive d'alcool
• Suivez de près votre état de santé : pression artérielle, cholestérol, glycémie et poids
• Maintenez vos relations et activités sociales
• Adoptez une alimentation équilibrée et saine, riche en céréales, poissons, légumineuses et légumes
• Réduisez votre niveau de stress
• Stimulez votre cerveau en essayant quelque chose de nouveau, comme un jeu ou l’apprentissage d’une nouvelle langue
• Protégez votre tête avec un casque pour faire du sport

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez La santé du cerveau.

Recherche en cours sur les facteurs de risque

Les facteurs de risque sont les caractéristiques propres à une personne, à son mode de vie, à son environnement et à son hérédité. Ils indiquent la probabilité de développer telle ou telle maladie, mais ne causent pas en soi la maladie. Ils font état d’un risque accru, mais pas d’une certitude que la maladie d'Alzheimer, par exemple, se développera. De la même manière, si une personne est peu ou n'est pas du tout exposée aux facteurs de risque connus, elle n’est pas pour autant protégée contre la maladie.

Certains facteurs de risque sont modifiables (par exemple, le tabagisme, l'hypertension artérielle); d'autres ne le sont pas (par exemple, l'âge, la constitution génétique).

Facteurs de risque modifiables

Facteurs de risque communs à la maladie d’Alzheimer et aux maladies cardiovasculaires

Les taux élevés de cholestérol dans le sang, l'hypertension artérielle, le diabète, le tabagisme et l'obésité sont les principaux facteurs de risque modifiables pour les maladies cardiovasculaires, y compris les maladies cardiaques et les accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Les facteurs de risque des maladies cardiovasculaires sont également des facteurs de risque pour la maladie d'Alzheimer et les troubles cognitifs vasculaires. Ces facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires sont plus fréquents dans les groupes plus âgés.

Tabagisme
Le tabagisme est directement lié à un large éventail de maladies, y compris le cancer sous diverses formes, les maladies cardiovasculaires et le diabète. Il est possible d’affirmer avec force et assurance que le risque de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer est de 45% plus élevé pour les fumeurs (par rapport aux non-fumeurs et ex-fumeurs). Les fumeurs sont également exposés à un risque plus élevé de maladie vasculaire (bien que les preuves ne soient pas aussi convaincantes) et même d'autres formes de trouble cognitif. En outre, les personnes qui cessent de fumer réduisent leur risque. Il est encourageant de constater qu’en cessant de fumer, il est non seulement possible de limiter les autres effets néfastes du tabagisme, mais également de réduire le risque de maladies cognitives.

Hypertension artérielle
Les personnes qui développent une hypertension artérielle dans la quarantaine sont plus susceptibles, en moyenne, de développer un trouble cognitif que celles dont la pression artérielle est normale. L'hypertension affecte le cœur, les artères et la circulation sanguine, de sorte qu'elle augmente le risque de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer et en particulier les troubles cognitifs vasculaires. Selon la recherche, l'activité physique et une meilleure alimentation peuvent réduire l'hypertension. Si cela ne fonctionne pas, certains médicaments contribuent à la réduire.

Diabète
La recherche a montré que le diabète de type 2 dans la quarantaine est associé à un risque accru d'Alzheimer ou de maladie apparentée, de maladies vasculaires et de troubles cognitifs. En fait, les personnes atteintes d’un diabète de type 2 sont deux fois plus susceptibles, en moyenne, de développer un trouble cognitif que les personnes en santé.

Taux élevé de cholestérol
Les personnes qui présentent un taux élevé de cholestérol total dans la quarantaine sont plus susceptibles, en moyenne, de développer l’Alzheimer ou une maladie apparentée que celles dont le taux de cholestérol total est normal. La recherche a montré que les personnes qui traitent leur taux de cholestérol élevé avec des médicaments appelés « statines » réduisent leur risque de développer un trouble cognitif. Il est donc important, pour la santé du cœur et du cerveau, de traiter un taux de cholestérol élevé. L'hypercholestérolémie est un facteur de risque important pour l'hypertension et le diabète et contribue également à augmenter les risques de maladies cardiovasculaires.

L'obésité et le manque d'activité physique
L'obésité et le manque d'activité physique sont des facteurs de risque importants pour le diabète et l'hypertension artérielle, et devraient donc également être pris en considération. L'obésité dans la quarantaine peut augmenter le risque d'Alzheimer et de maladies apparentées et, pour cette raison, il faut la combattre.

Autres facteurs de risque

Alcool
L'alcool, qui est au cinquième rang des facteurs de risque les plus importants de mortalité et d'incapacité dans le monde, a été impliqué comme facteur causal dans plus de 200 maladies et blessures, y compris les principales maladies non transmissibles dont la cirrhose, certains cancers et les maladies cardiovasculaires.

Les personnes qui consomment de l'alcool modérément courent le plus faible risque de développer l’Alzheimer ou une maladie apparentée. Celles qui ne boivent pas d'alcool du tout ont un risque légèrement plus élevé. Celles qui en boivent trop courent le risque le plus élevé.

Le faible niveau de scolarité
La recherche montre que l'instruction réduit le risque de trouble cognitif. La qualité et le degré d’instruction nécessaire pour se protéger contre l’Alzheimer restent à déterminer.

Dépression
Les personnes qui souffrent de dépression en fin de vie ou qui ont des antécédents de dépression peuvent également développer des troubles cognitifs. Cependant, la relation entre la dépression et les troubles cognitifs n’est pas encore claire. De nombreux chercheurs croient que la dépression est un facteur de risque, alors que d'autres considèrent qu'il s’agit peut-être d’un symptôme précoce de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Les traumatismes crâniens
Les personnes qui subissent des blessures graves ou répétées à la tête sont plus à risque de développer la maladie d’Alzheimer. Il est possible que les dépôts qui se forment dans le cerveau à la suite d’une lésion soient liés à l'apparition de la maladie.

Facteurs de risque non modifiables

Âge

La maladie d'Alzheimer ne fait pas partie du processus normal de vieillissement, mais l'âge est le principal facteur de risque connu de la maladie d'Alzheimer. Toutefois, cela ne signifie pas que la plus grande partie de la population développera la maladie en vieillissant, au contraire. La maladie d’Alzheimer à début précoce est parfois diagnostiquée chez des personnes plus jeunes, dans la quarantaine ou la cinquantaine. Après l'âge de 65 ans, le risque de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer double environ tous les cinq ans. Plus on vieillit, plus le risque est élevé. Une personne sur 20 âgée de plus de 65 ans et une personne sur quatre de plus de 85 ans sont atteintes de la maladie d'Alzheimer

Il est bien établi que le vieillissement peut altérer les mécanismes d'autoréparation de l'organisme, y compris au cerveau. En outre, la plupart des facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires augmentent avec l'âge, comme l'hypertension artérielle, les maladies cardiaques et le taux élevé de cholestérol.

Antécédents familiaux et génétiques

La forme la plus courante de la maladie d'Alzheimer n’est pas héréditaire, mais « sporadique ». La forme héréditaire ou « familiale » est très rare.

La maladie d'Alzheimer familiale
La maladie d'Alzheimer familiale représente moins de 5 % de tous les cas de maladie d'Alzheimer. Cette forme de maladie est héréditaire. Les enfants d’une personne atteinte de la maladie d'Alzheimer familiale courent un risque accru d'hériter du gène responsable de la maladie et de la développer.

La maladie d'Alzheimer familiale est due à des changements ou à des altérations dans des gènes spécifiques qui peuvent être directement transmis des parents aux enfants. Trois gènes familiaux de risque de la maladie d'Alzheimer ont été découverts jusqu'à présent: les gènes PS1, PS2 et APP. Si une altération affecte l'un ou l’autre de ces gènes, le risque de développer la forme précoce de la maladie d'Alzheimer familiale augmente. Les chercheurs tentent de trouver d'autres gènes qui pourraient être associés à la maladie d'Alzheimer familiale.

Maladie d’Alzheimer sporadique
La forme sporadique est la forme la plus courante de la maladie d’Alzheimer. Elle est due à un ensemble complexe d’éléments touchant à la génétique, à l’environnement et au mode de vie. Le vieillissement est le principal facteur de risque de la forme sporadique de la maladie d’Alzheimer. La plupart des cas surviennent après l'âge de 60-65 ans.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la génétique et la maladie d’Alzheimer, veuillez consulter notre feuillet d'information La génétique et la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Sexe

La question de savoir si les femmes sont plus susceptibles de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer que les hommes reste ouverte. Cependant, les preuves accumulées à l’échelle internationale ne le démontrent pas de manière convaincante. Il est nécessaire de poursuivre la recherche afin de déterminer si d'autres facteurs que l'âge peuvent accroître le risque pour les femmes de développer la maladie d'Alzheimer.

Autres facteurs de risque

D'autres troubles médicaux peuvent augmenter le risque de développer la maladie d’Alzheimer, dont la maladie de Parkinson, la sclérose en plaques, une maladie rénale chronique et le VIH. Le syndrome de Down et d'autres troubles d'apprentissage peuvent également augmenter le risque de développer la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Bibliographie

World Alzheimer Report 2014: Dementia and Risk Reduction, Alzheimer’s disease international, 2014 
Am I at risk of developing dementia?, Alzheimer’s Society UK, 2014
Your brain matters, the power of prevention, Alzheimer’s Australia, 2014




Mise à jour : 08/11/15
Retour au début