Alzheimer Society Awards

Each year, the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan board and staff recognize individuals and corporations who have made significant contributions to the Society over a number of years. 

2014-2015 Award Recipients

Honourary Lifetime Membership Award

- Dr. Jenny Basran

Dr. Jenny Basran is the only Royal College Certified Geriatrician practicing in Saskatchewan. She is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Head of the Division of Geriatric Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan.

AGM3Dr. Jenny Basran has made numerous contributions to the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan and more importantly to people living with dementia across Saskatchewan.  Dr. Basran served in a leadership role on the Board of Directors for two years from 2010 to 2012.  In addition to providing strategic direction to the organization, Dr. Basran was involved in advocating to government to get increased funding for the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan’s First Link Program. Dr. Basran has remained involved in the work of the Society beyond her terms on the board as a presenter at our Annual Provincial Conference for health care professionals as well as our First Link® Learning Series that spans the continuum of the disease.

Not only has she been involved in initiatives for seniors at the local and provincial but also at a national level - including establishing geriatric core competencies for medical schools, developing national guidelines for falls prevention for Safer Healthcare Now, and determining national quality indicators of care for older adults in acute care. She is working with several health regions to improve the care of older adults along the entire continuum of care.   

In 2012, Dr. Basran was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in recognition for the volunteer activity she carries out on behalf people living with Alzheimer’s disease and their caregivers with the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan. Most recently, the Alzheimer Society was pleased to write a letter of support leading to the recognition of Dr. Basran as the Saskatchewan Medical Association’s 2015 Physician of the Year.

We are fortunate to have Dr. Basran, a geriatrician who is so passionate about making life better for people affected by dementia as a volunteer and a medical professional in the province of Saskatchewan. 

Volunteerism Award

- Ted Sayer

AGM4Ted has a long history of volunteering for the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan with a wide variety of contributions to the Society’s mission and vision.   Years ago, when Ted and his wife Pat were living in Regina, they were members of “Between Ourselves”, the Alzheimer Society’s first education series for people with dementia. They also became members of the first early-stage support group, where they shared their personal story about the impact of dementia on their relationship and on their family. They acted as spokespersons on behalf of the Society, they participated in advocacy events at the Legislature, and they participated in the Walk for Memories.  Later, Ted and Pat moved to Prince Albert to be closer to family, where Ted joined the Alzheimer Support & Information Group. Ted continued to remain involved with the Society in Prince Albert, and after Pat passed away in 2012 he took on additional volunteer responsibilities, including participating in the Dementia Advisory Network and facilitating the Prince Albert Caregiver Support Group.

As if all of this wasn’t impressive and inspirational enough, this year he was instrumental in reinvigorating the Walk for Memories in Prince Albert. Ted, on behalf of the Alzheimer Society, thank you for everything you have done to advance the cause. 

Corporate Leadership Award

- Shaun Semple of Brandt Group of Companies

The Brandt Group of Companies made fundraising history in the province of Saskatchewan, hosting an event that raised more than $1 million in one evening to support the Alzheimer Society of Saskatchewan and Football Saskatchewan. The Brandt Group of Companies was a major sponsor of the event, which took place on July 18, 2014. The company contributed $257,900 and the Semple family offered their home to host the event. The event consisted of an auction, dinner and performances by top country acts George Canyon and Blue Rodeo. The truly unique item at the auction was a custom Saskatchewan Roughrider themed 1968 Shelby GT500 Mustang convertible. The tribute car alone raised nearly $200,000. A portion of the proceeds from the event will be matched by the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation ($500,000) to fund a $1 million Research Chair in Alzheimer’s disease and Related Dementia, and the remainder will provide essential support to the over 18,000 people living with dementia in our province.

Thank you to Shaun and the Brandt Group of Companies for enabling us to continue our research into finding a cause and cure for Alzheimer’s disease and supporting individuals and families living with dementia in Saskatchewan.

Philanthropic Leadership Award

- 3D Petroleum in memory of Delois Meyers

Dave and Tami experienced Alzheimer’s disease when Tami’s mother, Delois Meyers, was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. Delois lost her battle with the disease a few years ago and this motivated Dave and Tami to make a leadership gift of $250,000 in memory of her after her passing. Dave and Tami are very humble people, not wanting any recognition for their gift. They are the true meaning of philanthropists, and it was hard work to convince them to accept this award. We felt it was very important to celebrate this gift as it is one of the largest donations made to the Society in our history. The Alzheimer Society is extremely lucky to have individuals like Dave and Tami supporting our organization.

Thank you to Dave and Tami for enabling us to continue supporting individuals and families with dementia in Saskatchewan and for their support in such an overwhelmingly generous way.

Last Updated: 11/08/2017