Dementia Friends Leadership Award Luncheon

Dementia Friends Leadership Award Luncheon


This event was held at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel on Friday June 16th at noon


This event gives the Alzheimer Society an opportunity to present volunteer recognition pins, certificates, the prestigious Dementia Friends Leadership Award, and the Ferne Stevenson Caregiver Award.


We would like to thank all our sponsors; Murray Stevenson, City of Charlottetown, Key Murray Law, Dr. John Gillis Memorial Lodge, Andrews of Summerside, ADL, Parkdale Lions Club, Health PEI, Neurodyn, and D.P Murphy Inc. 

And a special thank you to our guest speakers, Fred Foster and Lew Robinson!  



The Dementia Friends Leadership Award 

This award was established in 2002 to encourage, support and inspire partnerships and excellence in dementia care.  This award is the highest honour presented by the Alzheimer Society of PEI.  It recognizes a person or organization who exemplifies excellence in person-centered care while promoting programs and services for all those affected by Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias. 


This year’s winners of the Dementia Friends Leadership Award was Dr. Jackalina Van Kampen, neuroscientist, studying neurodegenerative diseases at Neurodyn Inc.  One of her key research areas was establishing a research program focused primarily on neuroprotective therapies for various neurological conditions including Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, and ALS.  Jackalina is not only a research scientist, she is also one of our board members. Congratulations Dr. Jackalina Van Kampen on this much-deserved award.


Past Dementia Friends Leadership Award recipients include:

2016 - Corrine Arsenault

 2015 - Dr. Janice Keefe

 2014 - Murray Stevenson

 2013 - Joan Coffin, MSW

 2012 - Mr. Ewen Stewart

 2011 - Doug MacKenzie & Dr. John Gillis Memorial Lodge

 2010 - Parkdale Sherwood Lions Club

 2009 - Jean Zaat

 2008 - Eric Kipping

 2007 - Elizabeth Strong Reagh

 2006 - Dr. Tim Stultz

 2005 - UPEI School of Nursing

 2004 - Colville Manor, Souris

 2003 - Marguerite Connolly & RCW program

 2002 - Danny Murphy


The Ferne Stevenson Caregiver Award 

In 2015 we wanted to recognize a very important caregiver who has done so much for our community.  We deciced this would be best done with a new award that we would present annually alongside the Dementia Friends Leadership Award.  We named this award after the late Ferne Stevenson who has recently passed away.  Ferne was an amazing caregiver and such a huge supporter to our beloved society. 


Caregivers are the unsung heroes within our communities.  They are family members, friends, and neighbours who are supporting, caring for, and making a difference in the lives of people with dementia.  This year we honoured to present this award to Jacinta Stewart.  Jacinta has been an amazing caregiver for her father for seven years and a committed volunteer to the Alzheimer Society.  Thank you, Jacinta, for all that you do, and congratulations on this well-deserved award.


Past Ferne Stevenson Caregiver Award recipients include:

 2016 - Sheila MacDonald

 2015 - Dr. John Flood

Thank you to Rodd Charlottetown and all the volunteers for helping make this day so special!



Last Updated: 11/08/2017