Print

Counsellors

First Link Counsellors

First Link is a referral program where individuals are connected with  the Alzheimer Society Peel by a Health Care Professional. It is a free support, guidance, and education program. Services provided include: 1) One-to-one dementia specific counselling sessions, which can be in office, in home, or over the phone. 2) E-mail correspondence 3) First Steps Education (recently diagnosed individuals and their carepartner) 4) Resource information 5) Referrals to community services.

First Link Support Counsellors are specially trained in dealing with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias but are not therapists.

Brampton: Amanda DoRego, 905-792-1319 ext. 711 or by email at amanda.dorego@alzheimerpeel.com  and Jhovar Morrison, 905-792-1319 ext. 704 or by email at j.morrison@alzheimerpeel.com

Mississauga: Rachele Valentino, 289-632-2273 ext. 312 or by email at r.valentino@alzheimerpeel.com

 

Outreach Counsellors

Outreach Counsellors offer free support, guidance, and education.  Services provided include: 1) One-to-one dementia specific counselling sessions, which can be in office, in home, or over the phone. 2) E-mail correspondence 3) Caregiver support groups 4) Support Groups for the Person with Dementia 4) Bereavement Support Groups 5) First Steps Education (recently diagnosed individuals and their carepartner) 6) Resource information 7) Referrals to community services.

Outreach Counsellors are specially trained in dealing with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias but are not therapists.

Brampton: Tammy Ford, 905-792-1319 ext. 4 or by email at t.ford@alzheimerpeel.com

Meadowvale: Jovana Vulic, 905-542-7415 or by email at j.vulic@alzheimerpeel.com

North Mississauga: Christine Longo, 289-632-2273 ext. 308 or by email at c.longo@alzheimerpeel.com

South Mississauga: Katie Griffiths, 905-278-3667 ext. 201 or by email at k.griffiths@alzheimerpeel.com

 

Behavioural Supports Ontario Outreach Counsellors

The Behavioural Supports Ontario Outreach Counsellors role is to support individuals, and their family members, when responsive behaviours, mental health issues, and/or intensive needs are present, in the Mississauga Halton Local Health Integration Network. 

Caregiving issues surrounding a person with a cognitive disease are unique and complex.  Our role is to help people gather information, navigate the system to access community services, and provide emotional and practical support.

Support can be provided in the form of a one-on-one home or office visit, over the phone, or assistance in reaching out and connecting with other services in the community.

North Mississauga (including Meadowvale): Krishna Sagoo, 289-632-2273 ext. 231 or by email at k.sagoo@alzheimerpeel.com

South Mississauga: Lindsay Passarelia, 905-278-3667 ext. 213 or by email at l.passarelli@alzheimerpeel.com

Halton: Laura Menard, 905-278-3667 ext. 212 or by email at laura.menard@alzheimerpeel.com


Last Updated: 09/02/16
Back to top