Our Research Committees

We are grateful to those who volunteer their time and expertise on the following Alzheimer Society Research Program Committees:

ASRP Peer Review Panel

The Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) relies on a system of peer review to identify the most promising research projects and ensure we make the best use of our research funding. Applications are evaluated on scientific merit and relevance to Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias by one of two peer review panels (i.e., biomedical or quality of life).

ASRP 2015 Peer Review Panel members


Chair: Barry Greenberg, PhD, University Health Network
Co-chair: David Morgan, PhD, University of South Florida
Panel members:
  • Mounia Azzi, PhD, Neuroscience Director, Scientific Affairs Neomed
  • Shernaz Bamji, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • John Breitner, MD, MPH, McGill University
  • Neil Cashman, University of British Columbia
  • Carol Colton, PhD, Duke University
  • Sylvain Doré, PhD, University of Florida
  • Simon Duchesne, PhD, Université Laval
  • Edith Hamel, PhD, McGill University
  • Georges Levesque, PhD, Université Laval
  • Chris Naus, University of British Columbia
  • Mark Reed, PhD, Treventis, VP, Therapeutics
  • Harold Robertson, PhD, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Wayne Rowe, Assistant Director, Sanofi
  • Weihong Song, MD, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Carmela Tartaglia, MD, University of Toronto
  • Barbara Tate, PhD, Satori Pharmaceuticals
  • Jackalina Van Kampen, PhD, Director, Neurodyn Inc., Prince Edward Island
  • Michael Vitek, PhD, Duke University
  • Donna Wilcock, PhD, University of Kentucky

Quality of Life

Chair: Melissa Andrew, MD, PhD, Dalhousie University
Panel members:
  • Dawn Guthrie, PhD, Wilfred Laurier University
  • Janice Keefe, PhD, Director, Nova Scotia Centre on Aging
  • Karen Kobayashi, PhD, University of Victoria
  • Megan O’Connell, PhD, University of Saskatchewan
  • Allison Phinney, RN, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • Frank Rudzicz, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Martine Simard, PhD, Université Laval
  • Phil St. John, MD, University of Manitoba
  • Isabelle Vedel, MD, PhD, McGill University

Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee provides advisory oversight to the research efforts of the Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors as it relates to policy, strategy, priority setting, program effectiveness and funding.

  • Lynn Beattie MD, University of British Columbia (Chair)
  • Kathy Dewling, Lay Member
  • Howard Feldman MD, University of British Columbia
  • Serge Gauthier MD, McGill University
  • Barry Greenberg PhD, University Health Network
  • Heather MacNeil, Lay Member
  • Natalie Phillips PhD, Concordia University
  • Jane Rylett PhD, University of Western Ontario
  • Marjorie Sullivan, Lay Member

Community Representatives

Community Representatives are members of the general public who are not currently involved with research. They comment on the intent, purpose and on the clarity of the language used within the lay summaries of the research applications. Their involvement in peer review serves as a mechanism for public accountability by providing feedback on the ASRP peer review process.

  • Lydia and Bruce Watts
  • Gail Reid
  • Sandi Matchett

Read more about our Community Representatives.

Last Updated: 09/01/15
Back to top