Our Research Committees

We are grateful to those who volunteer their time and expertise on the following Alzheimer Society Research Program Committees:

ASRP Peer Review Panel

The Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) relies on a system of peer review to identify the most promising research projects and ensure we make the best use of our research funding. Applications are evaluated on scientific merit and relevance to Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias by one of two peer review panels (i.e., biomedical or quality of life).

ASRP 2016 Peer Review Panel members


Chair: Neil Cashman, MD, University of British Columbia 
Co-chair: Isabelle Aubert, PhD, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Scientific Officer: Georges Lévesque, PhD, Université Laval
Panel members:
  • Chris Naus, University of British Columbia
  • Wayne Rowe, Assistant Director, Sanofi
  • Jackalina Van Kampen, PhD, Director, Neurodyn Inc., Prince Edward Island
  • Donald Weaver, MD, PhD, University Health Network
  • Sylvain Williams, PhD, McGill University
  • Linda Mah, MD, MHS, Baycrest
  • Paul Brassard, MD, MSc, McGill University
  • Sébastien Hébert, PhD, Université Laval
  • Andréa LeBlanc, PhD, McGill University
  • A. Claudio Cuello, MD, DSc, McGill University
  • Joel Watts, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Andrew Tasker, PhD, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Gordon Glazner, PhD, University of Manitoba
  • Donna Wilcock, PhD, University of Kentucky
  • Lili-Naz Hazrati, MD, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Darrell Mousseau, PhD, University of Saskatchewan
  • Hideto Takahashi, MD, PhD, McGill University
  • Steffany Bennett, PhD, University of Ottawa

Quality of Life

Chair: Melissa Andrew, MD, PhD, Dalhousie University
Scientific Officer: Karen Kobayashi, PhD, University of Victoria
Panel members:
  • Janice Keefe, PhD, Director, Nova Scotia Centre on Aging
  • Allison Phinney, RN, PhD, University of British Columbia
  • David Hogan, MD, University of Calgary
  • Kathy McGilton, RN, PhD, University of Toronto
  • Sharon Kaasalainen, RN, PhD, McMaster University
  • Linda Garcia, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Gina Bravo, PhD, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Jennifer Knopp-Sihota, PhD, Athabasca University
  • Paul Villeneuve, PhD, Carleton University
  • Véronique Provencher, PhD, Université de Sherbrooke
  • Marjorie Silverman, PhD, University of Ottawa
  • Sébastien Grenier, PhD, Université de Montréal
  • Jennifer Walker, PhD, University of Toronto

Research Policy Committee

The Research Policy Committee provides advisory oversight to the research efforts of the Alzheimer Society Research Program (ASRP) and makes recommendations to the Board of Directors as it relates to policy, strategy, priority setting, program effectiveness and funding.

  • Lynn Beattie MD, University of British Columbia (Chair)
  • Howard Feldman MD, University of British Columbia
  • Serge Gauthier MD, McGill University
  • Barry Greenberg PhD, University Health Network
  • Natalie Phillips PhD, Concordia University
  • Jane Rylett PhD, University of Western Ontario
  • Marjorie Sullivan, Lay Member
  • Melissa Andrew, MD, PhD, Dalhousie University
  • Neil Cashman, MD, University of British Columbia
  • Michele Buchignani, Lay Member

Community Representatives

Community Representatives are members of the general public who are not currently involved with research. They comment on the intent, purpose and on the clarity of the language used within the lay summaries of the research applications. Their involvement in peer review serves as a mechanism for public accountability by providing feedback on the ASRP peer review process.

  • Neville Chenoy, Biomedical
  • Sherri Russell, Quality of Life

Read more about our Community Representatives.

Last Updated: 02/25/16
Back to top